Free 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan


Our 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan is here! Download For Free!



Are Jacob’s Twiglets Vegan 2022? All Ingredients Analyzed


Snacks and chips are something that vegans most often that not can enjoy, without worrying about animal-derived ingredients. This still makes vegans cautious and that’s why I want to answer the question, are Twiglets vegan?

Jacob’s Twiglets are vegan. It only contains one questionable ingredient and that is palm oil. Since Jacob’s is not a RSPO member, Twiglets might not suit ethical vegans. The label also states that Twiglets might contain milk and eggs. This is most probably due to the fact the Twiglets are made in the same factory as other products containing these ingredients.

Below is a small table showing Twiglets and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
Jacobs Twiglets OriginalVegan.
Jacobs Mini TwigletsVegan.

Twiglets Ingredients

Below are the Twiglets ingredients.

  • Wholewheat Flour
  • Flavouring [Yeast Extract (Barley), Salt, Vegetable Extract (Carrot)]
  • Vegetable Oils (Sunflower, Palm)
  • Salt
  • White Pepper

I have highlighted the ingredient we need to take a closer look at.

Questionable Ingredients

Palm Oil

Palm oil is a very controversial ingredient not only for vegans, but for people in the entire world. This vegetable oil is known for its amazing productivity per square meter. Even tho this is the case, a lot of deforestation is taking place to make room for the farms.

This is a disaster for the ecosystem and the wild life. Orangutans and rhinos are being forced from their homes and there are heartbreaking videos Youtube showing orangutans trying to defend the forest against the bulldozers.

Ethical vegans and people are taking a stand against palm oil industry, but it still remains the most popular vegetable oil in the world. You will see a lot of vegan certified products contain palm oil and the reason for this is because it’s often sustainable palm oil.

There is an organisation called RSPO, which helps companies produce and and buy sustainable palm oil. When writing this article Jacob’s is not a RSPO member. There the palm oil in Jacobs’s Twigles is not suited for ethical vegans.

FAQ

Are Jacob’s Twiglets Vegetarian?

Jacob’s Twiglets are vegetarian. There are no animal-derived ingredients and the only questionable ingredient is palm oil, which does not impact the vegetarian diet. Below is a table showing Twiglets and its vegetarian status.

FlavorVegetarian Status
Jacobs Twiglets OriginalAll Vegetarians.
Jacobs Mini TwigletsAll Vegetarians.

Are Jacob’s Twiglets Gluten-Free?

Twiglets are not gluten-free. They contain wholewheat flour and barley, which contains gluten.

Conclusion

Happy news for us vegans to know that Twiglets are vegan. The only questionable ingredient is the palm oil and unfortunately it’s not RSPO certified.

Ethical vegans tend to stay away from this ingredient and sometimes even tho if it’s RSPO certified.

It’s not easy today to know which products are vegan today and that’s why wrote this article.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts