Free 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan


Our 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan is here! Download For Free!



Are Town House Crackers Vegan 2022? All Flavors Reviewed


Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

There are many types of crackers on the market these days. Town House crackers are one type that you may not be familiar with, but you can find Town House crackers at most grocery stores. However, are Town House crackers vegan?

There are several flavors of Town House crackers that are vegan such as Original, Pita Crackers Sea Salt, Black Pepper Dipping Thins and Game Day Dippers just to name a few. They don’t contain any animal-derived ingredients.

Below is a table showing Town House Crackers flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
Town House Original CrackersVegan.
Town House Pita Crackers Mediterranean HerbNo, contains Milk.
Town House Pita Crackers Parmesan Cheese & BasilNo, contains Milk.
Town House Pita Crackers Sea SaltVegan.
Town House Crackers Dippers OriginalVegan.
Town House Black Pepper Dipping ThinsVegan.
Town House Sea Salt Dipping ThinsVegan.
Town House Crackers Game Day DippersVegan.
Town House Pretzel Flipsides Original CrackersVegan.
Town House Flatbread Crisps – Tomato, Basil & MozzarellaNo, contains Milk.

Town House Crackers Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.

  • BHT For Freshness
  • Enriched Flour
  • Annatto Extract Color
  • Baking Soda
  • Buttermilk
  • Canola Oil
  • Cheese Cultures
  • Citric Acid
  • Corn Syrup
  • Cornstarch
  • Cracked Black Pepper
  • Dextrose
  • Disodium Guanylate
  • Disodium Inosinate
  • Dried Garlic
  • Dried Parsley
  • Dried Potatoes
  • Enzymes
  • Folic Acid
  • Garlic Powder
  • High Fructose Corn Syrup
  • Lactic Acid
  • Low-moisture Mozzarella Cheese
  • Modified Corn Starch
  • Monocalcium Phosphate
  • Natural Flavor
  • Niacin
  • Oat Fiber
  • Olive Oil
  • Onion Powder
  • Paprika Extract Color
  • Parmesan Cheese
  • Reduced Iron
  • Rice Flour
  • Salt
  • Sodium Acid Pyrophosphate
  • Soy Lecithin
  • Soybean Oil
  • Spices
  • Sugar
  • Tomato Powder
  • Turmeric Extract Color
  • Vitamin B1 [thiamin Mononitrate]
  • Vitamin B2 [riboflavin]
  • Whey
  • Whole Wheat
  • Whole Wheat Flour
  • Yeast
  • Yeast Extract

[Source]

As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Non-Vegan Ingredients

Milk

There are several ingredients made from milk that can be found in some of the flavors such as whey, Parmesan cheese, and buttermilk. It’s made from cow’s milk and it’s not vegan.

Questionable Ingredients

Sugar

Sugar is not exactly healthy but is still most of the time vegan. In the candy and snacks industry, cane sugar is the most popular kind of sugar, which is 100% vegan in raw form. The cane sugar is often refined to fit the product better and in this refining process the sugar is also bleached.

This is where the issue lies for vegan. A common bleaching method is to actually use bone char from dead cows and exploiting animals in the production process does not align well with veganism. Another problem is the fact the source of the sugar is rarely disclosed on the ingredients label, so as a vegan we can never be sure that the sugar is vegan-friendly.

Natural Flavors

Another popular ingredients in many snacks is natural flavors. The problem with natural flavors is the fact that companies can but whatever ingredient they want into this main ingredient, without needing to disclose which ones they added.

The ingredients could be derived from animals and it’s impossible to know, because most of the time it’s not disclosed on the ingredients label. There is an interesting article on National Geographic where they disclosed the use of butt go from beavers in some vanilla flavors.

Disodium Guanylate & Disodium Inosinate

These ingredients can be made from both animal sourced ingredients and plant-based ingredients.

Vegan Alternative To Town House Crackers

I found an alternative to Town House crackers that is 100% vegan and it’s Simple Mills Crackers.

FAQ

Are Town House Crackers Vegetarian?

It’s unclear if Town House crackers are vegetarian, because most flavors contain niacin and riboflavin, which can be made from animal-sourced ingredients.

FlavorVegetarian Status
Town House Original CrackersVegetarian.
Town House Pita Crackers Mediterranean HerbVegetarian.
Town House Pita Crackers Parmesan Cheese & BasilVegetarian.
Town House Pita Crackers Sea SaltVegetarian.
Town House Crackers Dippers OriginalVegetarian.
Town House Black Pepper Dipping ThinsVegetarian.
Town House Sea Salt Dipping ThinsVegetarian.
Town House Crackers Game Day DippersVegetarian.
Town House Pretzel Flipsides Original CrackersVegetarian.
Town House Flatbread Crisps – Tomato, Basil & MozzarellaVegetarian.

Conclusion

It’s great that so many flavors of Kellogg’s Town House crackers are vegan-friendly. I also found some more vegan alternatives that might suit your taste buds.

Vegans can’t be careful enough these days, because there are many ingredients that are not vegan and without research it would be hard to get that information. That’s why I’m reviewing product to help you find vegan products.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts