Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)
Nestle Toll House Chocolate Chips have been a favorite of bakers and chocolate lovers alike ever since they first hit the market in 1939. Whether you’re making cookies, brownies, or just looking for a sweet snack to munch on, Nestle Toll House Chocolate Chips are sure to satisfy your cravings for something chocolatey. However, is Toll House Chocolate Chips vegan?
Nestle Toll House Allergen Free Semi Sweet Chocolate Chips and Allergen Free Dark Chocolate baking Chips are both vegan because they don’t contain any ingredients derived from animals.
Below is a table showing Toll House Chocolate Chips flavors and its vegan status.
|Nestle Toll House Real Coffee Espresso Baking Chips||No, contains Milk.|
|Nestle Toll House Semi Sweet Chocolate Baking Chips||No, contains Milk.|
|Nestle Toll House Allergen Free Semi Sweet Chocolate Chips||Vegan.|
|Nestle Toll House Semi Sweet Mini Chocolate Baking Chips||No, contains Milk.|
|Nestle Toll House Milk Chocolate Baking Chips||No, contains Milk.|
|Nestle Toll House Dark Chocolate Baking Chips||No, contains Milk.|
|Nestle Toll House Allergen Free Dark Chocolate baking Chips||Vegan.|
|Nestle Toll House Chocolate Peanut Caramel Baking Morsels||No, contains Milk.|
|Nestle Toll House Milk Chocolate and Peanut Butter Baking Chips||No, contains Milk.|
|Nestle Toll House Premier White Baking Morsels||No, contains Milk.|
|Nestle Toll House Triple Chip Morsels||No, contains Milk.|
|Nestle Toll House Hot Fudge Sundae Baking Morsels||No, contains Milk & Gelatin.|
|Nestle Toll House Butterscotch Artificially Flavored Baking Morsels||No, contains Milk.|
Toll House Chocolate Chips Ingredients
Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.
- Baking Soda
- Canola Oil
- Caramel Color
- Caramel Filling
- Cellulose Gel
- Cellulose Gum
- Cocoa Butter
- Cocoa Processed With Alkali
- Corn Syrup
- Disodium Phosphate
- Enriched Wheat Flour
- Folic Acid
- Hydrogenated Coconut Oil
- Hydrogenated Palm Oil
- Modified Food Starch
- Mono & Diglycerides
- Natural Flavors
- Nonfat Milk
- Organic Cane Sugar
- Organic Chocolate
- Organic Cocoa Butter
- Palm Kernel Oil
- Palm Oil
- Reduced Iron
- Roasted Coffee
- Sodium Aluminum Phosphate
- Soy Lecithin
- Thiamine Mononitrate
- Vanilla Extract
- Xanthan Gum
As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.
Milk & Egg
Both eggs and milk comes from animals making them non-vegan ingredients.
Sugar is a controversial ingredient within the vegan community and reason for this is the risk of bone char from dead cows being used in the production process. This problem is narrowed down to refined cane sugar, which means that raw cane sugar and beet sugar is always 100% vegan-friendly.
The cane sugar is often refined to fit the products and in this process the cane sugar is also bleached. A common method is to use bone char from dead cows and this does not align with veganism.
Palm oil is a very controversial ingredient, not only for vegans but for people all over the world. Even though palm oil itself is vegan, this does not mean that the companies that produce palm oil is ethical. The production of palm oil has been causing deforestation that affects wild life and this is not sustainable.
There is an organisation called Roundtable for Sustainable Palm Oil or RSPO and this is a non-profit organisation that helps companies to produce and buy sustainable palm oil. This would make the palm oil more vegan-friendly.
Natural flavors is an umbrella term and it’s a very common ingredient in many food products. The problem with natural flavors is the fact that companies can add whatever ingredient they wish to natural flavors without needing to disclose all the ingredients.
Companies don’t disclose if it contains non-vegan ingredients, but they do disclose if it contains milk, because of the potential allergy.
Corn & Soy
Corn and soy are two of the most common GMO crops in the US. The problem with these is the high amount of herbicide that is needed in order for the crops to grow. This can pollute the surrounding ecosystem and cause severe damage to the environment.
Mono & Diglycerides
This ingredient can be sourced from animals.
It’s great that two flavors or Nestle Toll House Chocolate Chips are vegan because my kids love these when we bake cookies. A common problem when it comes to chocolate baking chips is that milk is commonly used, which makes a lot of flavors not suited for vegans.
Thanks for reading, take care!