Free 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan


Our 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan is here! Download For Free!



Are Tim’s Potato Chips Vegan 2022? All Flavors Reviewed


Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

Potato chips is my favorite snack as a vegan and before I become a vegan I always thought that most potato chips flavors were vegan, which is not the case really. I went to the store the other day and picked up a bag of Tim’s chips because my daughter really wanted them. I reviewed all the ingredients and today I will help you answer the question, are Tim’s potato chips vegan?

Tim’s Potato Chips Original, Simply Tim’s Unsalted and Sea Salt & Vinegar are vegan because they don’t contain any animal-derived ingredients.

Below is a table showing Tim’s potato chips flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
Tim’s Potato Chips OriginalVegan.
Tim’s Potato Chips Simply Tim’s UnsaltedVegan.
Tim’s Potato Chips Sea Salt & VinegarVegan.
Tim’s Potato Chips JalapenoMaybe, contains Natural Flavor.
Tim’s Potato Chips Sour Cream & OnionNo, contains Milk.
Tim’s Potato Chips Honey BBQNo, contain Honey.
Tim’s Potato Chips Vlasic Dill PickleNo, contains Milk.
Tim’s Potato Chips Smoked GoudaNo, contains Milk.
Tim’s Potato Chips Coney Island MustardNo, contains Milk.

Looking for more potato chips inspiration then check out our vegan chips list.

Tim’s Potato Chips Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.

  • Buttermilk
  • Caramel Color
  • Citric Acid
  • Corn Oil
  • Cottonseed Oil
  • Dehydrated Yellow Mustard
  • Dextrose
  • Disodium Inosinate and Disodium Guanylate
  • Extractives of Turmeric
  • Garlic and Onion Powder
  • Green Onion
  • Honey
  • Hydrolyzed Soy and Corn Protein
  • Jalapeno Pepper
  • Lactose
  • Malic Acid
  • Maltodextrin
  • Modified Corn Starch
  • Monosodium Glutamate
  • Mustard Seed
  • Natural And Artificial Flavor
  • Nonfat Dry Milk
  • Onion and Garlic Powder
  • Paprika
  • Parsley
  • Potatoes
  • Salt
  • Sea Salt
  • Sodium Diacetate
  • Spices
  • Sugar
  • Sunflower Oil
  • Torula Yeast
  • Turmeric
  • Vinegar Powder
  • Vinegar
  • Whey
  • Yeast Extract

[Source]

As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Non-Vegan Ingredients

Milk

Some of the flavors of Tim’s potato chips contains ingredients made from cow’s milk such as buttermilk, lactose and whey.

These ingredients are not vegan.

Honey

Exploiting bees for their honey does not align with veganism.

Questionable Ingredients

Natural Flavors

Now natural flavors be a tricky ingredient because companies add both plants-based and animal-derived ingredient with needing to disclose it as anything else than natural flavors. So knowing if this ingredient is vegan or not can difficult.

The best thing is to actually contact the company and ask.

Sugar

There are two types of sugar that is common in snacks and candy industry. If the sugar is cane sugar then it’s most probably refined in order for the sugar to fit the product better. In this refining process the sugar is also bleached and a common practice is to actually use bone char from dead cows and this has vegan upset.

So many vegans tends to stay away from refined cane sugar just because of this. Cane sugar in it’s raw form is vegan and beet sugar is 100% vegan-friendly as well.

Disodium Inosinate & Disodium Guanylate

These ingredients are mostly made from animals-sourced ingredients, but it can be made from plants as well.

Corn

The reason I put corn at the questionable ingredients list is because it’s a common GMO crop in USA. It requires a lot of herbicide for good yields and this can damage the surrounding ecosystems severely. A lot of vegans tends to stay from GMO crops and look for the label non GMO project.

FAQ

Are Tim’s Potato Chips Vegetarian?

Tim’s Potato Chips Original, Simply Tim’s Unsalted, Jalapeno, Sea Salt & Vinegar and Honey BBQ is suited for all vegetarians, while the rest of the flavors are suited for lacto-ovo and lacto vegetarians.

FlavorVegetarian Status
Tim’s Potato Chips OriginalAll Vegetarians.
Tim’s Potato Chips Simply Tim’s UnsaltedAll Vegetarians.
Tim’s Potato Chips JalapenoAll Vegetarians.
Tim’s Potato Chips Sea Salt & VinegarAll Vegetarians.
Tim’s Potato Chips Sour Cream & OnionLacto-Ovo & Lacto.
Tim’s Potato Chips Honey BBQAll Vegetarians.
Tim’s Potato Chips Vlasic Dill PickleLacto-Ovo & Lacto.
Tim’s Potato Chips Smoked GoudaLacto-Ovo & Lacto.
Tim’s Potato Chips Coney Island MustardLacto-Ovo & Lacto.

Conclusion

With four of the flavors being vegan is great.

An important note is that you read the ingredients label on the chips that you want to eat just to be sure. Don’t only take my word for a product being vegan, always check the label yourself to be sure.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts