Are Thomas English Muffins Vegan 2023? All Flavors Reviewed

Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

Thomas English Muffins are a widely enjoyed breakfast favorite that have been around since the 1800s. They first gained popularity in New England, and now they can be found in grocery stores all over the world. But, are Thomas English Muffins vegan?

Thomas English Muffins are not vegan because they contain milk.

Below is a table showing Thomas English Muffins flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
Buttermilk English MuffinsNo, contains Milk.
Cinnamon ProteinNo, contains Milk.
OriginalNo, contains Milk.
Light Multi-GrainNo, contains Milk.
Cinnamon RaisinNo, contains Milk.
Whole WheatNo, contains Milk.
BlueberryNo, contains Milk.
Original Made With Whole GrainsNo, contains Milk.
One Of Our FavesNo, contains Milk.
SourdoughNo, contains Milk.
King SizeNo, contains Milk.
Honey WheatNo, contains Milk & Honey.
Multi GrainNo, contains Milk.
Pumpkin SpiceNo, contains Milk.

Thomas English Muffins Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.

  • Baking Soda
  • Barley
  • Brown Rice
  • Burermilk Farina
  • Calcium Carbonate
  • Calcium Propionate And Sorbic Acid (To Preserve Freshness)
  • Cellulose Fiber
  • Cinnamon
  • Citric Acid
  • Corn
  • Enriched Wheat Flour
  • Farina
  • Flaxseed
  • Folic Acid
  • Grain Vinegar
  • Malt
  • Malted Barley Flour
  • Millet
  • Modified Wheat Starch
  • Monocalcium Phosphate)
  • Natural Flavors
  • Niacin
  • Oats
  • Polydextrose
  • Reduced Iron
  • Riboflavin (Vitamin B2)
  • Rye
  • Salt
  • Sea Salt
  • Sorbic Acid
  • Soy Lecithin
  • Sugar
  • Tapioca Starch
  • Thiamin Mononitrate (Vitamin B1)
  • Triticale
  • Vegetable Oil (Soybean)
  • Water
  • Wheat Gluten
  • Wheat Starch
  • Whey
  • Whey Protein Concentrate
  • Whole Grains (Wheat
  • Xanthan Gum
  • Yeast


As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Non-Vegan Ingredients


Cows milk comes from cows and eating ingredients from animals does not align with veganism.

Questionable Ingredients


Sugar is a controversial ingredient in the vegan community because there is an instance where cane sugar is classified as non-vegan. The cane sugar often needs to be refined to fit the product and in this refining process the sugar is also bleached.

A common method to bleach cane sugar is to use bone char from dead cows and exploiting animals in the production process would make that product non-vegan.

Natural Flavors

Natural flavors is an umbrella term, meaning that it can consist of several ingredients and the source of these ingredients is normally not disclosed on the ingredients label.

This means that you can’t be completely sure if the natural flavors contains animal-sourced ingredients or not. The only way to know is to contact the company and ask.

Soy & Corn

Corn and soy are two of the most common GMO crops in the US and many vegans stay away from these. The reason for this is the high amount of herbicide that is needed in order for the crop to grow. This can pollute the surrounding ecosystem and damage it severely.


Unfortunately for vegans, milk is a very common ingredient in muffins and other pastries. Veganism is becoming more popular and many bakeries are creating vegan-friendly options. As soon as I find a great alternative I will update this article.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts