Free 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan


Our 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan is here! Download For Free!



Are T.G.I. Fridays Potato Skins Vegan 2022? All Flavors Reviewed


Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

Today we are taking a look at T.G.I. Fridays potato skins. These crunchy chips comes with a tasty few flavors and is a popular choice by many. However are T.G.I. Fridays potato skins vegan?

T.G.I. Fridays Potato Skins are not vegan because they contain milk.

Below is a table showing T.G.I. Fridays potato skins flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
T.G.I. Fridays’s Potato Skins Sour Cream & OnionNo, contains Milk.
T.G.I. Friday Potato Skins Cheddar & BaconNo, contains Milk.
T.G.I. Friday Potato Skins Bacon RanchNo, contains Milk.
T.G.I. Friday Potato Skins Chili and CheeseNo, contains Milk.

T.G.I. Fridays Potato Skins Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the T.G.I. Fridays potato skins flavors that I could find.

  • Annatto Extract (Color)
  • Applewood Smoked Bacon
  • Batter Mix
  • Blue #1
  • Butter
  • Buttermilk
  • Caramel Color
  • Cellulose Gum
  • Cheddar Cheese
  • Cheese Powder
  • Cheese Sauce
  • Citric Acid
  • Disodium Phosphate
  • Corn
  • Corn Meal
  • Degermed Yellow Corn Flour
  • Dextrin
  • Dextrose
  • Disodium Guanylate
  • Disodium Inosinate
  • Dried Garlic
  • Enzymes
  • Garlic Powder
  • Glycerine
  • Glycerol Monoleate (Emulsifier)
  • Guar Gum
  • Gum Arabic
  • Lactic Acid
  • Malic Acid
  • Maltodextrin
  • Modified Corn Starch
  • Mono and Diglycerides
  • Monosodium Glutamate
  • Natural & Artificial Flavors
  • Natural Flavors
  • Non Fat Milk
  • Onion Ponder
  • Parsley
  • Potassium Chloride
  • Potato Flakes
  • Potato Starch
  • Red # 40
  • Rice Flour
  • Salt
  • Silicon Dioxid
  • Smoke Flavor
  • Sodium Ascorbate
  • Sodium Bicarbonate
  • Sodium Diacetate
  • Sodium Nitrite
  • Sodium Phosphate
  • Sour Cream
  • Soybean Oil
  • Sunflower Oil
  • Spices
  • Sugar
  • Tapioca Starch
  • Tomato Powder
  • Torula Yeast
  • Turmeric Extract
  • Water
  • Xanthan Gum
  • Yeast Extract
  • Yellow #5

[Source]

As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Non-Vegan Ingredients

Milk

There are several milk ingredients that can be found in T.G.I. Fridays potato skins such as butter, buttermilk, cheddar cheese, cheese powder and more.

The milk comes from cows and is not vegan.

Questionable Ingredients

Sugar

Sugar is the kind of ingredient that almost always should be vegan, but the truth is this ingredient can very often be non-vegan. The most common sugar in the candy and sweets industry is refined cane sugar. This sugar in it’s raw form is 100% vegan-friendly, it’s when it becomes refined where the problems start.

In the refining process the sugar is also bleach and a very common bleaching process is to use bone char from dead cows. If this is the case then the sugar would be classified as non-vegan.

Natural Flavors

The next questionable ingredient is natural flavors. Now this ingredient can hide non-vegan ingredients very easy because a lot of different ingredient can be put in here and the company only has to call it natural flavors.

Disodium Guanylate, Disodium Inosinate

These ingredients can be made both from plants and animals.

Artificial Colors

Artificial colors is an highly discussed ingredient within the vegan community. A lot of vegans would call this ingredient non-vegan and the reason for this is the fact that animal testing is still being conducted.

This has made vegan split into two groups, dietary vegans and ethical vegans. As you might have guessed the ethical vegans don’t want to consume artificial colors whereas the dietary vegan might not have a problem with it.

There are several other method is testing that can be used instead such as computer simulations and hopefully this will become more popular in the future.

Enzymes & Mono and Diglycerides

These two ingredient can come from both plant-based and animal-based sources.

Vegan Alternative To T.G.I. Fridays Potato Skins

There are a lot of vegan alternatives to T.G.I. Fridays potato skins:

I hope you find a vegan chips flavors that suits you.

FAQ

Are T.G.I. Fridays Potato Skins Vegetarian?

T.G.I. Fridays potato skins might be vegetarian but they contain enzymes, mono and diglycerides, disodium guanylate and disodium inosinate, which can be made both from plants and animals.

FlavorVegetarian Status
T.G.I. Fridays’s Potato Skins Sour Cream & OnionMaybe
T.G.I. Friday Potato Skins Cheddar & BaconMaybe
T.G.I. Friday Potato Skins Bacon RanchMaybe
T.G.I. Friday Potato Skins Chili and CheeseMaybe

Are T.G.I. Fridays Potato Skins Dairy-Free?

T.G.I. Fridays’s potato skins are not dairy-free. Ingredients such as butter, buttermilk, cheddar cheese, cheese powder, cheese sauce, sour cream and non fat milk can be found throughout all the flavors.

Conclusion

It’s to bad that T.G.I. Fridays’s potato skins is not vegan, but luckily we have a lot of vegan alternatives since vegan potato chips is very common.

Maybe they might make a vegan flavors in the future.

Thanks for reading, take care.

Recent Posts