Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)
Are you looking for a crunchy, savory snack to satisfy your cravings? Snyder’s of Hanover has been producing pretzels since 1909 and their experience shows in the quality of their product. For decades, Snyder’s has been a fan favorite for its signature twists and traditional shapes with an unbeatable flavor. But, are Snyder’s pretzels vegan?
Many Snyder’s pretzels flavors are vegan such as Mini Pretzels, Sourdough Hard Pretzels, Olde Tyme Pretzels, Itty Bitty Mini Pretzels just to name a few. They are vegan because they don’t contain any ingredients sourced from animals.
Below is a table showing Snyder’s Pretzels flavors and its vegan status.
|Seasoned Twisted Pretzel Sticks||No, contains Milk.|
|Jalapeno Ranch Twisted Pretzel Sticks||No, contains Milk.|
|Sour Cream & Onion Twisted Pretzel Sticks||No, contains Milk.|
|Sourdough Nibblers||Maybe, contains Natural Flavor.|
|Butter Snaps Pretzels||No, contains Milk.|
|Sourdough Hard Pretzels||Vegan.|
|Olde Tyme Pretzels||Vegan.|
|Dipping Sticks Pretzels||Vegan.|
|Itty Bitty Mini Pretzels||Vegan.|
|Unsalted Mini Pretzels||Vegan.|
|Parmesan Garlic||No, contains Milk.|
|Honey Mustard & Onion||No, contains Milk & Honey.|
|Hot Buffalo Wing||Many questionable ingredients.|
|Cheddar Cheese||No, contains Milk.|
|Peanut Butter Filled||Vegan.|
|Jalapeño Pieces||Many questionable ingredients.|
|Buttermilk Ranch||No, contains Milk.|
|Milk Chocolate Holiday Pretzel Rounds||No, contains Milk.|
|Milk Chocolate Pretzel Rounds||No, contains Milk.|
|Milk Chocolate Mini Dips||No, contains Milk.|
|Dark Chocolate Mini Dips||No, contains Milk.|
|White Creme Mini Dips||No, contains Milk.|
|Milk Chocolate Peanut Butter Filled Pretzels||No, contains Milk.|
|Dark Chocolate Holiday Shapes||No, contains Milk.|
|Braided Twists Garden Vegetable||Vegan.|
|Braided Twists Honey Wheat||No, contains Honey.|
|Braided Twists Multigrain||Vegan.|
|Cheddar Cheese Pretzel Sandwiches||No,contains Milk.|
|Brick Oven Style Pizza Pretzel Sandwiches||No,contains Milk.|
|Gluten-Free Pretzel Rods||Vegan.|
|Gluten-Free Cinnamon Brown Sugar Pieces||Maybe, contains Natural Flavors.|
|Gluten-Free Mini Pretzels||Vegan.|
|Gluten-Free Honey Mustard & Onion Sticks||No, contains Honey.|
|Gluten-Free Hot Buffalo Wing Pieces||Maybe, contains Lactic Acid.|
|Butter Rounds||No,contains Milk.|
|Sea Salt Rounds||Vegan.|
Snyder’s Pretzels Ingredients
Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.
- Cane Sugar
- Canola Oil
- Carrot Powder
- Citric Acid
- Cultured Buttermilk
- Dehydrated Parsley
- Enriched Flour
- Extract Of Turmeric
- Folic Acid
- Green Bell Pepper Powder
- Honey Powder
- Horseradish Powder
- Hydrolyzed Soy Protein
- Lactic Acid Sour Cream
- Malt Extract
- Milk Fat
- Modified Corn Starch
- Monosodium Glutamate
- Myristic Acid
- Natural And Artificial Flavors
- Natural Flavor (Enzyme Modified Butter)
- Nonfat Milk
- Onion Powder
- Palm Oil
- Potato Flour
- Reduced Iron
- Sea Salt
- Sunflower Oil And Silicon Dioxide
- Tapioca Malt Syrup
- Thiamine Mononitrate
- Tomato Powder
- Wheat Gluten
- Wheat Starch
- Whey (Milk)
- Whole Milk Powder
- Whole Wheat Flour
- Yeast Extract
As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.
Since milk comes from cows, it’s not a vegan-friendly ingredient.
Honey is also not a vegan-friendly ingredient because it comes from bees and vegans don’t eat anything that is produced by insects.
Sugar is a tricky ingredient for vegans because there is a situation where sugar could be non-vegan. Two of the most common sugar types are beet sugar and cane sugar, with the latter one being the most popular sugar used in the candy and sweets industry.
Raw cane sugar is always vegan-friendly, but when the cane sugar gets refined, it could become a problem for vegans. In the refining process the sugar is also bleached and a common method is to use bone char from cows.
Exploiting animals in the production process does not align with veganism.
Natural flavors is an umbrella term. This means that it can consist of several ingredients and the source of these ingredients are very rarely disclosed on the ingredients label.
This means that the source of this ingredient could be animal-sourced and it would not be disclosed. The best way to know for sure is to contact the company and ask.
Palm oil has been making the news for quite some time and the reason for it is the severe deforestation taking place for palm oil plantations and this is extremely detrimental for the surrounding wild life.
Palm oil is very popular because it’s a very lucrative ingredient and it’s very profitable. This is because the production value of palm oil per square meter is outstanding and it’s very easy to produce.
I’ts been unregulated for some time, but a non-profit was created called RSPO and it’s mission is to help companies produce sustainable palm oil. This would make the palm oil more vegan-friendly.
Soy & Corn
Corn and soy are two of the most common GMO crops in the US and many vegans will stay away from these. The reason for this is the high amount of herbicide that is needed in order for the crop to grow. This can pollute the surrounding ecosystem and damage it severely.
It’s amazing that so many flavors of Snyder’s pretzels are vegan-friendly. Many of their products do contain milk or honey, but since they have so many flavors to choose from, there are many to pick from for vegans as well.
Thanks for reading, take care!