Free 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan


Our 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan is here! Download For Free!



Are Snyder Of Berlin Chips Vegan 2022? All Flavors Reviewed


Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

Potato chips is a favorite snack for many vegan, but even tho the main ingredient is potatoes, vegans still need to read the ingredients label because non-vegan ingredients can always be present. Today I’m answering the question, are Snyder Of Berlin chips vegan?

Snyder of Berlin Original Potato Chips, Barbeque and Salt & Vinegar are vegan because they don’t contain any ingredients derived from animals.

Below is a table showing Snyder Of Berlin chips flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
Snyder of Berlin Original Potato ChipsVegan.
Snyder of Berlin Barbeque ChipsVegan.
Snyder of Berlin Salt and Vinegar ChipsVegan.
Snyder of Berlin Honey Barbeque Potato ChipsNo, contains Honey.
Snyder of Berlin Smoked Gouda Potato ChipsNo, contains Milk.
Snyder of Berlin Parmesan Garlic Potato ChipsNo, contains Milk.

See the top vegan chips list for more inspiration.

Snyder Of Berlin Chips Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.

  • Autolyzed Yeast Extract
  • Buttermilk Powder
  • Canola Oil
  • Cheese Culture
  • Citric Acid
  • Coconut Oil
  • Corn Flour
  • Corn Oil
  • Cottonseed Oil
  • Dextrose
  • Enzymes
  • Extractive Of Turmeric Garlic Oil
  • Extractives Of Paprika
  • Fructose
  • Garlic Powder
  • Gouda Cheese
  • Honey Powder
  • Maltodextrin
  • Natural Butter Type Flavors
  • Natural Flavors
  • Natural Smoke Flavor
  • Nonfat Milk Powder
  • Onion Powder
  • Pasteurized Milk
  • Parmesan Cheese
  • Paprika
  • Parsley Spice
  • Potatoes
  • Safflower Oil
  • Salt
  • Skim Milk Powder
  • Sodium Caseinate
  • Sodium Diacetate
  • Soybean Oil
  • Sugar
  • Sunflower Oil
  • Tomato Powder
  • Torula Yeast With Onion Powder
  • Vinegar
  • Whey
  • Yellow 5 Lake
  • Yeast Extract

[Source]

As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Non-Vegan Ingredients

Milk

There are several ingredients made from milk such as whey, skim milk powder and buttermilk powder. Since it’s cow’s milk, all these ingredients are non-vegan.

Honey

The second non-vegan ingredient is honey. Vegans don’t consume anything from insects and honey from bees is no exception. Exploiting bees, by taking their honey and replacing it with sugar does now align with veganism.

Questionable Ingredients

Sugar

You will find sugar in more potato chips flavors than you might think. Two of the most common sugar types used in snacks and candy is cane sugar and beet sugar. Now beet sugar will always be vegan-friendly, but when it comes to cane sugar that is another story. Because there is an instance where cane sugar can be classified as non-vegan by many vegans.

Raw cane sugar is indeed vegan, but when the cane sugar gets refined, then it can cause problems for vegans. In that refining process, the cane sugar is also bleached and a common practice is to use bone char from dead cows. Exploiting animals in the production process of a product does not align with vegans would make he sugar non-vegan.

Natural Flavors

This ingredient is very popular in many chips flavors to make them more tasty. Natural flavors is an umbrella term, which means that many ingredients can be put here without needing to disclose it. This causes an problem for vegans, because both ingredients sourced from animals and plants can be used.

Most often than not if the natural flavors contains milk, the company will disclose it on the ingredient label, which is great, but not if it contains any other ingredient derived from animals. So knowing the source is impossible and the only way to be sure is to contact the company and ask.

Enzymes

Nothing much to say about enzymes, they can be produced using ingredients derived from animals or plants. It’s rarely disclosed with source on the ingredients label.

Artificial Colors

When it comes to artificial colors it is an controversial ingredient that is highly discussed within the vegan community. The problem with artificial colors is the fact that animal testing is still being performed, while there are other testing methods such as computer simulations that do a great job instead.

The tests are mostly done on rats, but as a vegan we want no harm to any animal. Other than the animal testing, several health issues are linked to artificial colors such as hyper activity in younger people.

Ethical vegans tends to not consume any products that contains artificial colors, however some dietary vegans do consume them. So the choice is up to you.

Corn & Soy

These two are very common GMO crops in USA and some vegans tends to stay way from GMO’s. The reason is not health related, but rather related to the high amount of herbicide used to gain good yields. The herbicide can pollute the surrounding ecosystem and do severe damage.

FAQ

Are Snyder Of Berlin Chips Vegetarian?

Most flavors of Snyder Of Berlin chips are suited for all vegetarians, while Smoked Gouda and Parmesan Garlic are only suited for lacto-ovo and lacto vegetarians.

FlavorVegetarian Status
Snyder of Berlin Original Potato ChipsAll Vegetarians.
Snyder of Berlin Barbeque ChipsAll Vegetarians.
Snyder of Berlin Salt and Vinegar ChipsAll Vegetarians.
Snyder of Berlin Honey Barbeque Potato ChipsAll Vegetarians.
Snyder of Berlin Smoked Gouda Potato ChipsLacto-Ovo & Lacto.
Snyder of Berlin Parmesan Garlic Potato ChipsLacto-Ovo & Lacto.

Conclusion

It’s great that three Snyder of Berlin chips are vegan when looking at the ingredients label. Some of the chips contains milk, which I mentioned earlier is a popular ingredient for many potato chips flavors.

Be careful when consuming natural flavors because it can be made from animal sourced ingredients.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts