Free 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan


Our 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan is here! Download For Free!



Are Skips Vegan 2022? All Flavors Analyzed


Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

Skips are tasty crisps made by a company called KP Snacks. Skips are perfect for any occasion that needs snacks. There we introduced in 1974 and has been a favorite snack for many since then. But, does Skips suits everyone? More importantly, are Skips vegan?

Skips Prawn Cocktail Crisps are vegan because they don’t contain any animal products. There are some questionable ingredients such as sugar and natural flavourings.

Below is a table showing all Skips flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan StatusLink
Skips Prawn Cocktail CrispsVeganView On Amazon

Skips Ingredients

Below are the ingredients found it in Skips Prawn Cocktail Crisps.

  • Tapioca Starch
  • Sunflower Oil
  • Maize Flour
  • Natural Flavourings
  • Citric Acid
  • Dried Onion
  • Natural Vinegar Flavouring
  • Potassium Chloride
  • Yeast Extract
  • Spice
  • Dried Tomato
  • Natural Pepper Flavourings
  • Paprika Extract
  • Rice Protein
  • Sugar
  • Salt

[source]

I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Questionable Ingredients

Sugar

Sugar does contain any animal-derived ingredients and is vegan in itself. However that is now where they problem lies when it comes to veganism. In the snack and candy industry the most common sugar used is refined cane sugar.

This sugar in its raw form it brown and in order to fit the candy and snack products better it needs to be refined. In this refining process the cane sugar is also bleached and the most common method is to use bone char from dead cows.

This means that dead animals are being exploited, if the cane sugar is bleached with bone char making the sugar not vegan-friendly. It’s impossible to know the source of sugar, unless the source is disclosed in the ingredients label.

If the sugar is beet sugar, then it’s 100% vegan-friendly.

Natural Flavourings

Natural flavourings is an umbrella term, which essentially means that it can contain many ingredients and the company don’t have to disclose exactly which ones. This way companies can keep parts of their recipe a secret. This also means that ingredients from both plans and animals be found in natural flavors.

Since skips are vegetarian, I do believe that the natural flavourings in Skips is indeed vegan as well.

FAQ

Are Skips Vegetarian?

Skips are vegetarian since it does contain any animal derived ingredients. Skips are labelled vegetarian and they might also have milk, soy and gluten in them. This is most likely due to cross contamination from the factory.

FlavorVegetarian StatusLink
Skips Prawn Cocktail CrispsAll Vegetarians.View On Amazon

Are Skips Gluten-Free?

Skips are gluten-free, but according to the ingredients label, gluten can also be found in Skips. This due to the possibility of cross contamination from the production factory.

Conclusion

So, are Skips suitable for vegans?

Skips are suitable for vegans because they don’t contain any animal derived ingredients. According to the ingredients label, Skips can contain milk, this most likely due to cross contamination from the factory.

With the rise of popularity for the vegan diet, so is the demand for vegan products. This has made companies more aware for the vegan cause and very often a new vegan product release to gain more customers.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts