Free 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan


Our 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan is here! Download For Free!



Are Simply Beverages Vegan 2022? All Flavors Reviewed


Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

If you’re looking for a delicious and healthy drink, look no further than Simply Beverages. They make many different kind of beverages such as juice, smoothies, oat and almond drinks, lemonade and more. No matter what you pick it’s a great way to start your day or enjoy as a refreshing snack. However, are Simply beverages vegan?

There are several Simply beverages that are vegan such as Orange Juice Pulp Free, Orange Juice Low Acid and Simply Apple just to name a few.

In this article we will take a look at all the beverages that Simply are currently offering and analyzing the ingredient to find out if they are vegan or not.

Is Simply Orange Juice Vegan?

Most Simply oranges juices are vegan except the flavors Calcium & Vitamin D and Medium Pulp with Calcium & Vitamin D because the vitamin D has been made from an oil called lanolin that is found in the fiber of sheep wool.

FlavorVegan Status
Pulp FreeVegan.
Low AcidVegan.
Calcium & Vitamin DNo, contains Vitamin D.
Medium Pulp with Calcium & Vitamin DNo, contains Vitamin D.
High PulpVegan.
With MangoVegan.
With PineappleVegan.

Is Simply Lemonade Vegan?

All flavors of Simply lemonade are vegan because they don’t contain any ingredient sourced from animals.

FlavorVegan Status
LemonadeVegan.
With RaspberryVegan.
With BlueberryVegan.
With StrawberryVegan.

Are Simply Juices Vegan?

All Simply juice flavors are vegan because they don’t contain ingredients derived from animals.

FlavorVegan Status
Fruit PunchVegan.
TropicalVegan.
PeachVegan.
WatermelonVegan.
AppleVegan.
CranberryVegan.
GrapefruitVegan.
LimeadVegan.

Are Simply Smoothies Vegan?

Simply smoothies are vegan because they don’t contain any animal-sourced ingredients.

FlavorVegan Status
Strawberry BananaVegan.
Orchard BerryVegan.
Mango PineappleVegan.

Is Simply Oat & Almond Vegan?

The flavors of Simply Oat and Simply Almond are vegan because they don’t contain ingredients that are derived from animals.

FlavorVegan Status
Simply Oat OriginalVegan.
Simply Oat VanillaVegan.
Simply Almond Unsweetened OriginalVegan.
Simply Almond OriginalVegan.
Simply Almond VanillaVegan.
Simply Almond Unsweetened VanillaVegan.

Simply Beverages Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.

  • Almond Milk
  • Almonds
  • Apple Juice
  • Apple Purée
  • Banana Purée
  • Blueberry Purée
  • Calcium Hydroxide
  • Calcium Lactate
  • Cane Sugar
  • Cherry And Cranberry Juices
  • Cherry Purée
  • Cranberry Juice
  • Lemon Juice
  • Lime Juice
  • Mango Purée
  • Natural Flavors
  • Oat Extract
  • Oat Flour
  • Oat Milk
  • Orange Juice
  • Oranges
  • Pear Juice
  • Pear Purée
  • Pineapple
  • Pineapple Juice
  • Pure Filtered Water
  • Raspberry Puree
  • Salt
  • Sea Salt
  • Strawberry Purée
  • Vanilla Extract
  • Vitamin D3

[Source]

As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

I contacted Simply Beverages and asked about the source of their vitamin D and natural flavors. Below is their answer.

“Dear   Mikael,

Thank you for contacting Simply Beverages!

Simply Orange® Pulp Free with Calcium and Vitamin D and Simply Orange® Medium Pulp with Calcium and Vitamin D both contain Vitamin D3 which is derived from lanolin, a natural oil in the fiber of sheep’s wool. Lanolin oil is obtainable without harming the sheep but may be an issue for strict vegetarians and vegans. While our other Simply products do not use any animal derived ingredients, they do not carry a “vegan” label claim, therefore we do not have the ingredient documentation available to support a “vegan” claim. No animal or fish bladders or gelatin are used in the production of Simply juices and drinks.”

Non-vegan Ingredients

Vitamin D

This ingredient is not vegan-friendly because it’s made from lanolin found in the fibers of sheep’s wool.

Questionable Ingredients

Cane Sugar

Cane sugar is a tricky ingredient for vegans because there is a possibility that bone char has been used in the production process. Raw cane sugar is always vegan-friendly, but in order for the cane sugar to fit the product better it’s often refined and in this process it’s also bleached.

A common method is to use bone char from dead cows and exploiting animals in the production process would classify the product as non-vegan by many vegans.

Natural Flavors

Natural flavors often consists of many ingredients, which makes this ingredient very uncertain for vegans. The ingredients can be sourced from animals and plants, the ingredient label rarely discloses the source. If it contains milk then that is disclosed because of allergies.

Conclusion

It’s amazing that so many flavors of Simply Beverages are vegan, making this brand an excellent choice for vegans. With all the flavors, I’m sure you will find one you like.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts