Free 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan


Our 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan is here! Download For Free!



Are Scooby Doo Fruit Snacks Vegan 2022?


Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

Scooby Doo Fruit Snacks is a delicious fruit snack produced by Betty Crocker. Can it fit different life styles? More specifically, are Scooby Doo Fruit Snacks vegan?

Scooby Doo Fruit Snacks maybe vegan, but they contain natural flavor, which can contain ingredients derived from both animals and plants.

Below is a table showing Scooby Doo Fruit Snacks flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan StatusLink
Betty Crocker Scooby Doo Fruit SnacksMaybe Vegan, contains Natural Flavor.View On Amazon

Scooby Doo Fruit Snacks Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.

  • Carnauba Wax
  • Citric Acid
  • Corn Syrup
  • Fruit Pectin
  • Malic Acid
  • Modified Corn Starch
  • Natural Flavor
  • Apple Juice Concentrate
  • Sodium Citrate
  • Sugar
  • Sunflower Oil Color (vegetable juice, spirulina extract, fruit juice, annatto extract, and turmeric extract)
  • Vitamin C (ascorbic acid)

[Source]

As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Questionable Ingredients

Sugar

The most common sugar used in candy is refined cane sugar. Raw cane sugar is 100% vegan-friendly, however when it gets refined it can cause problems for vegans. In the refining process the sugar is also bleached and a common method is to use bone char from dead cows.

This would make the sorry in question on-vegan. Because exploiting animals in anyway is does not align with veganism. The origin of the sugar is rarely disclosed on ingredients label and if it would happen to be beet sugar then it’s vegan-friendly sugar.

Natural Flavor

The second questionable ingredient on list is natural flavors. This is an umbrella term, which means that a lot of ingredient can be hidden here and it can both be animal-sourced or plant-sourced. You can tell if it’s animal sourced when looking on the ingredients label, however more often that not if the natural contains milk it will be disclosed.

There is an interesting article as National Geographic where they disclosed the use of butt goo from beavers in vanilla flavoring. Now you know that anything can be used as an ingredient.

Carnauba Wax

The carnauba wax industry is know for bad working environments and exploiting towards both workers and animals. To be sure the carnauba wax is ethical then the company should use sourced through Union For Ethical Biotrade.

Corn

Lastly we have corn, which one of the most common GMO crops in USA. It requires a high amount of herbicide and this can pollute the surrounding environment and damage the ecosystem severely. A lot of vegan tends to stay away from GMO crops.

Vegan Alternative To Scooby Doo Fruit Snacks

There is an amazing fruit snack alternative, which is 100% vegan-friendly and it’s called YumEarth.

It’s vegan, non GMO and no artificial flavors.

FAQ

Are Scooby Doo Fruit Snacks Vegetarian?

Betty Crocker Scooby Doo Fruit Snacks might be vegan, but it contains natural flavors, which can contain ingredients derived from animals.

FlavorVegetarian Status
Betty Crocker Scooby Doo Fruit SnacksMaybe Vegetarian, contains Natural Flavor.

Conclusion

Even tho there aren’t known animal-sourced ingredients on the ingredients label it can still contain non-vegan ingredients. It’s hard to define all the ingredients in Scooby Doo Fruit Snacks as vegan or non-vegan, but the natural flavors is always a tricky one.

I found you this article useful.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts