Free 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan


Our 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan is here! Download For Free!



Are Saltine Crackers Vegan? 10 Products Reviewed


Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

Are Saltine crackers vegan? Yes there are saltines that are vegan.

Most saltines consist of these ingredients, wheat flour, salt, baking soda and yeast which are all vegan but where they all differ is the use of vegetable oil in the product.

Without overtaking the entire article I will shortly explain the method I use to determine if a saltine cracker product is vegan. I use Certified Vegan Standards and Vegan Trademark standards as guidelines to what qualifies as a vegan product.

Now let’s take a look at 10 popular saltine cracker products to see which ones are vegan.

Back to Nature Crackers, Classic Organic Saltines

First out is Classic Organic Saltines from Back to Nature.

This product is marked with USDA Organic and Non GMO verified which is a great start. A closer look at the ingredients and we can see that there are no animal ingredients.

Ingredients

  • Organic Unbleached Wheat Flour (Wheat Flour, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamine Mononitrate (Vitamin B1), Riboflavin (Vitamin B2), Folic Acid)
  • Organic Expeller Press Oleic Safflower Oil
  • Sea Salt
  • Baking Soda
  • Organic Brown Rice Syrup
  • Enzymes
  • Organic Yeast
  • Organic Malted Barley Flour

Source

Conclusion

Vegan

Annie’s Organic Saltine Classics

Next up we have Annie’s Organic Saltine Classics which also USDA Organic and Non GMO verified trademarks.

We can now safely say that the crops used for this product don’t cause any enviromental issues.

Taking a look at the ingredient list and we can see that there are no animal ingredients and therefore this product is vegan.

Ingredients

  • Organic Wheat Flour
  • Expeller-Pressed Sunflower Oil
  • Sea Salt
  • Yeast
  • Organic Barley Malt Extract
  • Baking Soda

Source

Conclusion

Vegan

Nabisco Premium Saltine Crackers

Another popular brand is Nabisco Premium Saltine Crackers. Now this product is not organic or have a non GMO trademark so we must assume that this product contains GMO’s.

All ingredients seems to be vegan.

Ingredients

  • Unbleached Enriched Flour (Wheat Flour, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamine Mononitrate (Vitamin B1), Riboflavin (Vitamin B2), Folic Acid)
  • Soybean Oil
  • Partially Hydrogenated Cottonseed Oil
  • Sea Salt
  • Salt
  • Malted Barley Flour
  • Baking Soda
  • Yeast

Source

Conclusion

Vegan

Soybean Oil – Enviromental Issues

Keebler Zesta Saltine Crackers – Original

Next brand is Keebler Zesta Saltine Crackers. There are no trademarks regarding organic ingredients or non GMO’s. This product has GMO confirmed ingredients.

GMOs associated with soybean oil is shown to cause enviromental issues.

This product is considered vegan because there are no animal ingredients.

Ingredients

  • Enriched Flour (Wheat Flour, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamine Mononitrate (Vitamin B1), Riboflavin (Vitamin B2), Folic Acid)
  • Soybean Oil (with TBHQ)
  • Corn Syrup
  • Baking Soda
  • Yeast
  • Soy Lecithin

Source

Conclusion

Vegan

Soybean Oil – Enviromental Issues

Sunshine Krispy Saltine Crackers

Sunshine Krispy Saltine Crackers have GMO confirmed non organic ingredients which leads us to the conclusion that it is not enviromental friendly.

No animal ingredients found. This product is vegan.

Ingredients

  • Enriched Flour (Wheat Flour, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamine Mononitrate (Vitamin B1), Riboflavin (Vitamin B2), Folic Acid)
  • Soybean Oil (With TBHQ)
  • Salt
  • Corn Syrup
  • Baking Soda
  • Yeast
  • Soy Lecithin

Source

Conclusion

Vegan

Soybean Oil – Enviromental Issues

Late July Organic Saltine Crackers

Here we go next one up is Late July Organic Saltine Crackers.

Certified with USDA organic and Non GMO’s. They also included a [V] symbol on their package to make it easier to see it’s vegan.

However when reading the ingredients I do see that organic palm oil is used.

There are sustainable ways to produce palm oil but no RSPO trademark is found on this product.

I contacted the company to confirm that it is RSPO compliant. They have not responded yet so I must flag the organic palm oil as sever enviromental issues for the time beeing.

So I can’t recommend this product.

Ingredients

  • Organic Wheat Flour
  • Organic Sunflower Oil and/or Organic Safflower Oil
  • Organic Palm Oil
  • Seas Salt
  • Organic Evaporated Cane Sugar
  • Organic Yeast
  • Leavening (Baking Soda, Cream of Tartar)

Source

Conclusion

Vegan

Palm Oil – Sever Enviromental Issues.

Happy Belly Original Saltine Crackers

Moving on to Happy Belly Original Saltine Crackers.

No USDA organic or non GMO label.

No animal ingredients making this product also vegan.

Ingredients

  • Enriched Flour (Wheat Flour, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamine Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid)
  • Soybean Oil (with TBHQ and Citric Acid)
  • Salt
  • Baking Soda
  • Yeast
  • Malted Barley flour
  • Sodium Sulfite
  • Enzymes

Source

Conclusion

Vegan

Soybean Oil – Enviromental Issues

Wegmans Original Saltines

Now taking a look at Wegmans Original Saltines.

When reading the ingredients I see no ingredient associated with enviromental issues.

It contains no animal ingredients making this product vegan.

Ingredients

  • Enriched Wheat Flour (Wheat Flour, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamin Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid)
  • High Oleic Safflower Oil
  • Salt
  • Baking Soda
  • Yeast
  • Malted Barley Flour
  • Enzymes

Source

Conclusion

Vegan

Harris Teeter Saltine Crackers

Going down the list next we have Harris Teeter Saltine Crackers.

This product contains soybean oil with non GMO label so we must assume it’s made from GMO crops.

Other than that I see no animal ingredients making these saltine crackers vegan.

Ingredients

  • Enriched Flour (Wheat Flour, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamin Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid)
  • Soybean Oil (with TBHQ and Citric Acid)
  • Baking Soda
  • Yeast
  • Malted Barley FLour
  • Sodium Sulfite
  • Enzymes

Source

Conclusion

Vegan

Soybean Oil – Enviromental Issues

Winco Foods Saltine Crackers

And last but not least Winco Foods Saltine Crackers.

No USDA organic label or non GMO label.

These saltines contain both soybean oil and/or palm oil with no RSPO certification.

All ingredients seems to be vegan but there is one disturbing ingredient and that is palm oil.

As stated earlier palm oil does not contain any animal ingredients but the industry causes sever damage to the enviroment and wildlife through deforestation.

I can’t recommend this product.

Ingredients

  • Unbleached Enriched Flour (Wheat Flour, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamin Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid)
  • Soybean Oil and/or Palm Oil
  • Salt
  • Sodium Bicarbonate (Leavening)
  • Wheat Gluten
  • Yeast with Ascorbic Acid
  • Malted Barley Flour

Source

Conclusion

Vegan

Palm Oil – Sever Enviromental Issues.

Conclusion

So are saltines vegan? Well if you made it all the way to the end of this article then we can safely say that a lot of saltines are vegan.

When going vegan we all have different values and approaches to our vegan lifestyle. For me it started out with the health aspect to eat better food and it slowely worked it’s way to animal cruelty and then the enviroment.

For me it’s important important that the product is vegan and have a minimal impact on the enviroment.

That is why I decided to add the enviromental factor to each product review.

I hope you found this article useful and if you have any questions please let me know in the comments below.

Recent Posts