Free 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan


Our 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan is here! Download For Free!



Are Sabritones Vegan 2022? All Flavors Reviewed


Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

There are many tasty snacks, that are perfect for movie nights or parties. They are mostly made from potatoes, corn or wheat. Today taking a look at a wheat snack and answering the question, are Sabritones vegan?

Sabritones are probably not vegan, because it contains many questionable ingredients such as natural flavors, riboflavin and niacin that can be made from animal-sourced ingredients.

Below is a table showing Sabritones flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
Sabritones Chile & Lime Flavored Puffed Wheat SnacksProbably not vegan.

Sabritones Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.

  • Baking Soda
  • Blue 1 Lake
  • Blue 2 Lake
  • Canola Oil
  • Citric Acid
  • Corn Starch
  • Corn Syrup Solids
  • Cottonseed Oil
  • Enriched Flour (Bleached Wheat Flour)
  • Folic Acid
  • Lime Juice
  • Maltodextrin (Made from Tapioca)
  • Natural Flavors
  • Niacin
  • Red 40 Lake
  • Reduced Iron
  • Riboflavin
  • Salt
  • Spices
  • Sunflower Oil
  • Thiamin Mononitrate
  • Yellow 6
  • Yellow 6 Lake

[Source]

As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Questionable Ingredients

Artificial Colors

Sabritones have many artificial colors listed on the ingredients label and this is a problem for ethical vegans. These colors are still being tested on animals when they don’t have to be. There other very effective testing methods such as computer simulations that can get the job done.

There are also several health issues connected to artificial colors such as hyperactivity in kids. These colors are not healthy and should only be consumed in moderation. Some dietary vegans still consumes artificial colors and the choice is up to every vegan.

Natural Flavors

Now natural flavors is one very tricky ingredient, because it’s an umbrella term ingredient, which means that companies can add ingredients to natural flavors without needing to disclose the source. Most of the time they will disclose if it contains milk, but not if it contains animal-sourced ingredients.

There is an example where National Geographic disclosed that butt goo from beavers are used in some vanilla flavors. Knowing this, we can now never be sure about natural flavors. The only way to be sure is to contact the company and ask.

Riboflavin & Niacin

These two ingredient can be made from ingredients derived from animals or plants.

Corn

The reason I’m mentioning corn is because it’s one of the most common GMO crops in USA and a lot of vegans tends to stay away. High amount of herbicide is used and this can contaminate the surrounding ecosystem and damage it severely.

Vegan Alternative To Sabritones

If you want alternative you can always try Popchips.

Their sea salt flavor is vegan and they taste amazing.

FAQ

Are Sabritones Vegetarian?

Sabritones maybe vegetarian, but they contain many ingredients such as niacin, riboflavin and natural flavors that can be made with ingredients derived from animals.

Conclusion

With many questionable ingredients in Sabritones, there is a very low chance that they are vegan. There are many other vegan snacks to choose from and that taste amazing.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts