Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)
Rold Gold pretzels have been a favorite snack for decades. Not only are they delicious and crunchy, but they also come in a variety of flavors and shapes, making them the perfect snack for everyone. But, are Rold Gold Pretzels vegan?
Several flavors of Rold Gold Pretzels are vegan such as Original Tiny Twists Pretzels, Sticks Pretzels, Rods Pretzels, Thins Pretzels and Fat Free Tiny Twists Pretzels. They don’t contain any ingredients sourced from animals.
Below is a table showing Rold Gold Pretzels flavors and its vegan status.
|ROLD GOLD Original Tiny Twists Pretzels||Vegan.|
|ROLD GOLD Sticks Pretzels||Vegan.|
|ROLD GOLD Honey Wheat Braided Pretzel Twists||No, contains Honey.|
|ROLD GOLD Rods Pretzels||Vegan.|
|ROLD GOLD Thins Pretzels||Vegan.|
|ROLD GOLD Cheddar Flavored Tiny Twists Pretzels||No, contains Milk.|
|ROLD GOLD Fat Free Tiny Twists Pretzels||Vegan.|
Rold Gold Pretzels Ingredients
Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.
- Ammonium Bicarbonate
- Ammonium Carbonate
- Blue Cheese
- Cheddar Cheese
- Cheese Cultures
- Citric Acid
- Corn Oil
- Corn Syrup
- Corn Syrup Solids
- Disodium Inosinate And Disodium Guanylate
- Enriched Flour
- Folic Acid
- Garlic Powder
- Lactic Acid
- Malt Extract
- Maltodextrin (Made From Corn)
- Monosodium Glutamate
- Natural And Artificial Flavors
- Onion Powder
- Reduced Iron
- Skim Milk
- Sodium Bicarbonate
- Sodium Caseinate
- Sunflower Oil
- Thiamin Mononitrate
- Whole Wheat Flour
- Yellow 5
- Yellow 6
As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.
Since cows milk comes from animals, it’s not a vegan-friendly ingredient.
Sugar is a tricky ingredient within the vegan community, because there is a situation where cane sugar could be classified as non-vegan. The reason for this is bone char from dead cows. Cane sugar is one of the most common sugar types and before cane sugar is used in a product it’s often refined.
In this refining process the sugar is also bleached and a common method is to use bone char from dead cows. Exploiting animals in the production process would make that sugar non-vegan in many vegans eyes
Natural flavors is an umbrella term, which means that it can consist of several ingredient. This makes it hard for vegans to determine if it’s vegan-friendly or not, because the source of all these ingredient is not disclosed on the ingredients label.
The only ingredient that is disclosed is natural flavor. So it could contain ingredients sourced from animals and vegans would have no way of knowing this.
The first controversial ingredient is artificial colors. It is know for being tested on animals and the vegan community is split over this issue. There are other testing methods such as computer simulation that can do a great job.
There are several methods that can be used instead such as computer simulations. There are also a few health issues connected to artificial colors such as hyperactivity in children. So if you are vegan for health reasons stay away from artificial colors.
This ingredient can be made from both plants and animals.
Disodium Inosinate And Disodium Guanylate
These ingredients can be sourced from animals and plants.
The reason I mention corn is that it’s one of the most common GMO crops in USA. GMO crops requires a high amount of herbicide and this can pollute the surrounding environment, damaging it severely.
It’s amazing that so many flavors of Rold Gold Pretzels are vegan-friendly. However always read the ingredients label because companies can change their recipes.
Thanks for reading, take care!