Free 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan


Our 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan is here! Download For Free!



Are Quest Chips Vegan 2022? All Flavors Reviewed


Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

If you’re on the hunt for a tasty snack that won’t ruin your diet, Quest Chips are the perfect choice. These chips are made from high-quality ingredients and contain zero grams of sugar. Plus, they’re packed with protein and fiber to keep you feeling full and satisfied. But, are Quest Chips vegan?

Quest chips are not vegan because they contain milk.

Below is a table showing Quest Chips flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
Quest Tortilla Style Protein Chips Nacho CheeseNo, contains Milk.
Quest Tortilla Style Protein Chips Cheddar & Sour CreamNo, contains Milk.
Quest Tortilla Style Protein Chips BBQNo, contains Milk.
Quest Tortilla Style Protein Chips Loaded TacoNo, contains Milk.
Quest Tortilla Style Protein Chips Sour Cream & OnionNo, contains Milk.
Quest Tortilla Style Protein Chips Chili LimeNo, contains Milk.
Quest Tortilla Style Protein Chips RanchNo, contains Milk.
Quest Tortilla Style Protein Chips Spicy Sweet ChiliNo, contains Milk.

Quest Chips Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.

  • Acacia Gum
  • Annatto
  • Butter
  • Buttermilk Powder
  • Calcium Carbonate
  • Calcium Caseinate
  • Chia Seed
  • Citric Acid
  • Corn Starch
  • Cultures
  • Enzymes
  • Garlic Powder
  • High Oleic Sunflower Oil
  • Molasses
  • Natural Flavors
  • Nonfat Dry Milk
  • Nonfat Milk
  • Onion Powder
  • Paprika
  • Paprika Extract (Color)
  • Protein Blend (Milk Protein Isolate)
  • Psyllium Husk
  • Romano Cheese
  • Salt
  • Soluble Corn
  • Sour Cream
  • Spice
  • Stevia Sweetener
  • Sugar
  • Sunflower Lecithin
  • Tomato Powder
  • Turmeric Oleoresin (Color)
  • Whey Powder
  • Yeast
  • Yeast Extract

[Source]

As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Non-Vegan Ingredients

Milk

There are several ingredients made from milk such as whey powder, nonfat milk and butter just to name a few. Since it’s made from cow’s milk, this ingredient is not vegan.

Questionable Ingredients

Sugar

Sugar is not made from animal-sourced ingredients, but there is an instance where vegans would classify sugar as non-vegan and it involves bone char from dead cows. In candy and snacks, the most common type of sugar used is cane sugar.

In it’s raw form cane sugar is always 100% vegan, but to be used in products it needs to be refined and in this process the sugar is also bleached. A common bleaching method is to use bone char and this has made many vegans upset.

There is no way of knowing this, because it’s not disclosed on the ingredients label.

Natural Flavors

The second questionable ingredient is natural flavors and the problem with this ingredient is the fact that it often consists of several flavors with the source not disclosed on the ingredients label. So it could contain ingredients derived from animals.

Vegans needs to keep an eye out for this ingredient.

Corn

The reason I mentioned corn is the fact that it’s one of the most common GMO crops in USA and it uses a high amount of herbicide to grow. This can pollute the surrounding ecosystems and damage it severely.

There is another option and it’s called non GMO project, which is a label that guarantees that the product does not contain any GMO’s. Many vegans tends to stay away from GMO’s because of the environment.

Vegan Alternative To Quest Chips

I actually found a great alternative called Popcorners Flex Protein Chips.

Conclusion

It’s too bad that no flavors of Quest chips are vegan, because they taste delicious. Milk is a common ingredient in many chips flavors, but there are many vegan chips flavors on the market. I did manage to find a vegan protein chips alternative, which also tastes amazing.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts