Free 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan


Our 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan is here! Download For Free!



Are Quaker Oatmeal Squares Vegan 2022? All Flavors Reviewed


Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

If you’re looking for a hearty, tasty breakfast that will give you sustained energy throughout the morning, look no further than Quaker Oatmeal Squares. Made with 100% whole grain oats, Quaker Oatmeal Squares are a good source of fiber and have no artificial sweeteners. Are Quaker Oatmeal Squares vegan?

Some Quaker Oatmeal Squares maybe vegan, but they contain natural flavors, which can contain animal-sourced ingredients.

Below is a table showing Quaker Oatmeal Squares flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
Quaker Oatmeal Squares Brown SugarMaybe, contains Natural Flavors.
Quaker Oatmeal Squares CinnamonMaybe, contains Natural Flavors.
Quaker Oatmeal Squares Honey NutMaybe, contains Natural Flavors (Honey).

Quaker Oatmeal Squares Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.

  • Whole Grain Oat Flour
  • Baking Soda
  • Brown Sugar
  • Cinnamon
  • Folic Acid
  • Malted Barley Extract
  • Maltodextrin
  • Molasses
  • Natural Flavor
  • Salt
  • Sugar
  • Tocopherols
  • Reduced Iron
  • Whole Grain Oat Flour
  • Whole Wheat Flour

[Source]

As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Questionable Ingredients

Sugar

Sugar is a controversial ingredient within the vegan community, because there is always the possibility of bone char being used in the production process. Cane sugar is widely used in the candy and snacks industry and in order for sugar to be used it often needs to be refined.

This process also bleaches the sugar and a common method is to use bone char from dead cows. This has made many vegan cautious when it comes to sugar and the only way to be sure that the sugar has not been refined with bone char is to contact the company and ask.

Natural Flavor

Natural flavors can consist of many ingredients and the source of these ingredient is not disclosed in the ingredients label. This means that the ingredient can be sourced from animals without us knowing about, which means that vegans need to be careful when it comes to natural flavors.

If the product has a vegan label then the natural flavors would be vegan-friendly.

Conclusion

All flavors of Quaker Oatmeal Squares contain natural flavors, which means that we cannot be sure they are suited for vegans. It’s not easy to know if a product is vegan and this is why I make these articles to help you find good vegan-friendly products.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts