Free 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan


Our 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan is here! Download For Free!



Are Pringles Vegan 2022?


Pringles chips are the perfect snack for every occation. Whether it’s for a party, movie night or just a chill evening. Tasty and crunchy with the ability to suit most peoples tastes, but are Pringles vegan?

Pringles Original, Pringles Lightly Salted Original, Pringles Reduced Fat Original and Pringles Wavy Classic Salted are all vegan. The other flavors contain some form of milk ingredient such as whey, cheese or lactose, making them non-vegan.

We went the extra mile in this article to bring you the most up to date view on Pringles when it comes to veganism.

Be sure to check out our List Of Best Vegan Potato Chips Flavors.

Let’s get to it!

What Are Pringles?

Pringles in a bowl

Pringles are chips produced by Kellogg’s since 2012.

The original creator of Pringles is Procter & Gamle.

The chips are uniquely shaped as a hyperbolic paraboloid, which is mathematically calculated with precision.

These Chips are enjoyed world wide and comes with various flavors.

Pringles Ingredients

Pringles original on a table

Pringles Original, Pringles Lightly Salted Original, Pringles Reduced Fat Original and Pringles Wavy Classic Salted:

  • Dried Potatoes
  • Vegetable Oil (Corn, Cottonseed, High Oleic Soybean, And/Or Sunflower Oil)
  • Degerminated Yellow Corn Flour
  • Cornstarch
  • Rice Flour
  • Maltodextrin
  • Mono- and Diglycerides
  • Salt
  • Wheat Starch

The following Pringles flavors include the original ingredients plus citric acid, whey, milk or lactose.

The first 14 flavors also contain Disodium Guanylate and Disodium Inosinate.

  1. Pringles BBQ (Malic Acid).
  2. Pringles Cheddar Cheese (Coconut Oil and Lactic Acid).
  3. Pringles Cheddar & Sour Cream (Coconut Oil, Dextrose, Sodium Caseinate, Lactic Acid, Sour Autolyzed Malic Acid).
  4. Pringles Jalapeno (Lactic Acid).
  5. Pringles Sour Cream & Onion (Coconut Oil, Dextrose, Sodium Caseinate, Lactic Acid, Malic Acid).
  6. Pringles Ranch (Coconut Oil, Lactic Acid, Malic Acid).
  7. Pringles Rotisserie Chicken (Coconut Oil and Sodium Caseinate).
  8. Pringles Baconator (Lactic Acid).
  9. Pringles Honey Mustard.
  10. Pringles Buffalo Ranch (Coconut Oil, Lactic Acid and Dextrose).
  11. Pringles Memphis BBQ (Natural Smoke Flavor).
  12. Pringles Scorchin Chili & Lime (Red 40 and Yellow 6).
  13. Pringles Wavy Fire Roasted Jalapeno (Coconut Oil, Lactic Acid and Sodium Caseinate).
  14. Pringles Wavy Sweet & Spicy BBQ
  15. Pringles Pizza (Coconut Oil, Cream, Malic Acid, Lactic Acid).
  16. Pringles Salt & Vinegar (Dextrose and Malic Acid).
  17. Pringles Dill Pickle (Natural Flavor).
  18. Pringles Parmesan & Roasted Garlic (Sugar)
  19. Pringles Scorchin BBQ
  20. Pringles Scorchin Cheddar
  21. Pringles Wavy Applewood Smoked Cheedar

[source]

Non-Vegan Ingredients

A lot of non-vegan ingredients can be found among the different Pringles flavors.

Below I will list them all and explain them a little more in detail.

Cultured Non-Fat Milk

The first non-vegan ingredient we have for you today is cultured non-fat milk.

Cultured non-fat milk is basically a virtually fat-free milk which has been fermented in order to help preserve the milk.

You see, cultures of bacteria are added to the milk to help prolong the shelf life and to prevent spoilage.

These cultures produce lactic acid which not only preserve the milk, but also help to destroy pathogens and other organisms which could harm the milk and cause it to spoil and turn bad.

Milk is of course dairy and is derived from a living creature, usually a cow, meaning it is instantly non-vegan.

Cream

Next up we have cream.

Cream is basically made from a layer of fat which has risen to the top of fresh, unpasteurized milk.

The layer of fat is skimmed off and is then used to make various types of cream which can be used to make a variety of different dishes.

Butter Milk

Buttermilk is another common culinary ingredient that is unfortunately not vegan-friendly.

People assume that buttermilk contains butter due to its name, but that is not the case at all.

Buttermilk is made from an industrial process which is similar to yoghurt making, in that bacteria cultures are added to skimmed or low-fat pasteurized milk, which is then left alone to ferment for up to 2 days.

Buttermilk adds a sharp and sour finish to dishes, rather than a light and fluffy one which you could expect from butter.

Cheedar Cheese

There are many different cheeses out there, yet cheddar is definitely one of the more popular varieties.

Cheddar cheese is actually considered the most popular variety in the world and is made by taking milk, usually from a cow, though sheep’s milk is also used, and adding various bacteria cultures to it.

Cheddar must, by law, be a firm, hard cheese with <39% moisture, making it a harder and drier cheese than other blends.

To make a cheddar cheese, a process known as ‘cheddaring’ is carried out, whereby after the cultures have been added, the solid cheese curds are then taken, sliced, and formed into thick blocks which are stacked by hand.

This process increases the acidity of the cheese, causing it to go from crumbly to firm and elasticated.

Lactose

Lactose is basically the dominant sugar found in various forms of milk. This is a large molecule of sugar which is made up of smaller sugar molecules which are galactose and glucose.

In order for us to absorb lactose, it has to be split into galactose and glucose, which are then absorbed by the cells lining the small intestine.

To split the lactose into these sugar molecules, an enzyme which is called lactase is used by the body.

Lactose intolerance, which is a common condition, is due to lower amounts of, or less effectiveness of lactase enzymes.

A lack of lactase means that lactose cannot be split properly for optimal digestion.

Parmesan Cheese

If you think of Italian cheese, parmesan cheese is probably the first cheese that springs instantly to mind.

Parmesan cheese, or Parmigiano Reggiano, is an Italian cheese derived from cow’s milk.

In order for the cheese to be classed as parmesan, it has to be made from the milk of cows which have grazed on fresh hay and grass.

This hard cheese has a fruity and nutty taste, with a gritty texture. It goes particularly well with fresh pasta.

Cream Cheese

Cream cheese is a fresh cheese which, legally, has to contain a minimum of 33% fat along with a moisture content of 55% or less.

This cheese is soft, smooth, and creamy in texture with an incredibly mild taste which makes it ideal for sweet and savoury dishes.

Whole Milk

Whole milk is milk derived from an animal, usually a cow, which is basically the milk in its most natural form.

Whole milk is milkfat which is 3.25% by weight, as opposed to reduced fat milk which is 2% fat solids by weight.

Whole milk is higher in fat than the other types of milk out there, though at 3.25% fat solids, it isn’t as high as people would have you believe.

Whey

Whey, or whey protein, is a by-product left behind when milk is converted into cheese.

Once the necessary enzymes and cultures have been added to the milk to cause it to turn to cheese, it separates from solids into liquids.

The solids are known as curds, or cheese curds, and the liquid is known as the whey.

Whey is now hugely popular in the health and fitness community as whey can be used to be turned into whey protein powders and supplements, due to the fact that it contains such large amounts of proteins and amino acids.

Sodium caseinate

Sodium caseinate is a natural compound which is derived from casein protein – a protein found in the milk of living creatures such as cows and sheep.

This is the dominant protein found in cow’s milk and it is a slow-digesting protein which is often used by bodybuilders and people trying to build muscle.

As it is slow-digesting it is usually consumed at night before bed.

Sodium caseinate is a compound which is created when casein proteins are extracted from fat-free milk.

Once the liquid whey and solid curds are separate, the curds are then treated with sodium hydroxide, before they are dried and processed into a fine powder which can be added to supplements and whole foods such as desserts, cereal bars, and even processed meats.

Honey

Honey, as you probably know, is made by bees. As bees make it naturally, some argue that it is in fact vegan-friendly, but in the reality, we exploit bees for its consumption.

Bees make honey by taking nectar from flowering plants, before storing it in an additional stomach, also known as a ‘crop’.

In this extra stomach, the nectar is mixed with natural enzymes which alter its chemical composition.

Bees then return to the hive and regurgitate this liquid into the mouths of other bees, over and over again until the nectar is then deposited into honeycombs.

The nectar is very runny and watery, so the bees fan the liquid with their wings to help the water evaporate.

Once most of the water has evaporated, the bees then seal the honeycomb with a liquid that becomes beeswax, and the honey is then left to mature.

Honey is the only food in existence that never spoils.

Artificial Colors

Artificial colours such as Red 40, Blue 1, and Yellow 5 are also not generally suitable for vegan diets.

Red 40, yellow 5, and Blue 1 for example, may not be derived from animals, but they are still not cruelty-free.

Many of these fake colours are produced in labs and are tested on animals such as mice, rats, and even rabbits and dogs.

Disodium Inosinate

Disodium Inosinate is a food additive which is typically used as a flavour enhanced along with MSG (Monosodium Glutamate).

This is not a vegan-friendly ingredient as it is obtained from animals such as pigs and chickens.

There are exceptions, though, as it can also come from tapioca starch, which is obviously vegan-friendly.

Disodium Guanylate

Disodium Guanylate is a natural flavour enhancer which is often used in conjunction with disodium inosinate.

The difference here is that it is present in mushrooms, as well as some animal tissues.

Now, if it comes from mushrooms or plant-based tissues, it is of course suitable for vegans.

As it is also found in animals such as sardines however, knowing where it comes from in your food can be tricky, so vegans often simply steer clear of it.

Dextrose

Dextrose is a simple form of sugar which is typically obtained from maize (corn) that is added to a number of foods to add sweetness to them.

It is also sold as a supplement and is popular amongst bodybuilders, as dextrose promotes a post-workout insulin spike which in theory, helps to shuttle more post-workout proteins from a protein shake into your cells after you finish training.

Even though it comes from corn, some dextrose is refined using bone char, which is literally charred bones of animals, so not all dextrose is suitable for vegans.

Questionable Ingredients

Sugar (Brown Sugar, invert sugar)

Sugar such as invert sugar or brown sugar, is considered to be a questionable ingredient in the vegan community.

Sugar is derived from plant-based ingredients such as fruits and vegetables, yet certain types of sugar will be refined using bone char to help give them their brilliant white colour and also to help filter out any impurities.

Not all sugar is refined in this way, so if you are unsure, always read the packaging.

Natural Flavors

Natural flavors are also questionable because, as well as being derived from plants and vegan-friendly ingredients, some natural flavourings also come from living creatures.

To make matters worse, there is no way of knowing for certain which natural flavours contain animal ingredients so vegans do tend to steer clear.

Artificial Flavors

Artificial flavors are not derived from whole foods or animals, so basically they are synthetically created in labs using artificial ingredients to mimic natural flavours.

One of the main concerns is that many of the ingredients which go into making artificial flavours may be tested on animals.

Lactic Acid

Lactic acid is an organic acid which is produced when certain types of food are fermented.

The only concern here is that some types of lactic acid are produced from fermented meat and dairy products so things can sometimes get a little confusing.

Malic Acid

Malic acid is an extracted compound from plant-based ingredients such as fruits and veggies, that gives foods a sour and sharp taste.

Generally, malic acid is vegan-friendly however some malic acid may be produced from animals that recently ate natural sources of malic acid.

Therefore some caution must be taken.

Natural Smoke Flavor

If you want a natural BBQ smoke flavor for your foods without actually smoking them, natural smoke flavouring is a great product.

Natural smoke flavouring is real smoke which has basically been condensed and turned into a liquid which can be added to a variety of foods.

In very rare instances some animal-derived ingredients may also be added, so again, always read the packaging.

Coconut Oil

Last, but certainly not least, we have coconut oil.

Coconut oil is a healthy fat which has been found to lower LDL cholesterol, while being rich in omega-3 fatty acids.

It is derived from coconuts so while it doesn’t contain any animal derivatives, there are ethical concerns about the oil.

Many coconut farmers live in poverty and are exploited, plus there are deforestation concerns which is why some vegans are hesitant to use coconut oil.

To help allay your concerns, look for Fair Trade stickers on the packaging.

Cornstarch

The reason I mention cornstarch is that it’s probably made from GMO crops.

The pesticide used is very detrimental to the environment.

Citric Acid

Same goes with citric acid. It’s usally made from corn which is one of the most common GMO crops in the US.

Not only that a lof of the world supply of citric acid comes from China which also uses GMO crops in high amounts.

Q&A

Pringles original and sourcream and onion

Are Pringles Vegetarian?

The following flavors of Pringles are vegetarian:

  • Pringles Original
  • Pringles Lightly Salted Original
  • Pringles Reduced Fat Original
  • Pringles Wavy Classic Salted
  • Pringles Pizza
  • Pringles Salt & Vinegar
  • Pringles Dill Pickle
  • Pringles Parmesan & Roasted Garlic

Are Pringles Gluten-Free?

All flavors of Pringles contain wheatstarch, so Pringles is not gluten-free.

Are Pringles GMO-Free?

Pringles is not GMO-free. If you take a look at their ingredients at smart label then they disclose using GMO-crops.

Are Pringles Healthy?

Snacks should always be consumed with care and Pringles is no different.

It contains salt, potatoes, vegetable oil and a lot of the flavors include dairy aswell.

Conclusion

It’s not easy knowing if a product is vegan.

Chips seems like the obvious vegan choice since it’s mostly made of potatoes, but this article shows that even chips might not be vegan.

With so many flavors of Pringles, it’s nice to see that some actually are vegan.

Recent Posts