Free 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan


Our 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan is here! Download For Free!



Are Popchips Vegan 2022? All Flavors Analyzed


Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

Popchips have been around since 2007 with a wide range of flavors. Whether you are having a party or just a chill movie, Popchips will fit the occasion. However, are Popchips vegan?

Popchips Sea Salt is vegan because it don’t contain any ingredients derived from animals. The rest of the flavors contains milk making the non-vegan.

Below is a table of all Popchips flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
Popchips Sea SaltVegan.
Popchips Sea Salt & VinegarMaybe, contains Natural Flavors.
Popchips Fully LoadedNo, contains Milk.
Popchips Sour Cream & OnionNo, contains Milk.
Popchips BBQMaybe, contains Natural Flavors.
Popchips Aged White CheddarNo, contains Milk.
Popchips Crazy HotNo, contains Milk.
Popchips Fiery BuffaloNo, contains Milk.

Make sure to check out our article where we analyze over 30 potato chips brand to find out which potato chips are vegan.

Popchips Ingredients

Below are the ingredient that can be found through of the Popchips flavors.

  • Annatto Extract (Color)
  • Ascorbic Acid
  • Brown Sugar
  • Buttermilk
  • Cane Sugar
  • Cayenne Pepper
  • Cheddar Cheese
  • Cheese Cultures
  • Citric Acid
  • Cultured Non-fat Milk
  • Dried Parsley
  • Enzymes
  • Garlic Powder
  • Gum Arabic
  • Jalapeno Powder
  • Lactic Acid
  • Maltodextrin
  • Milk
  • Milk Fat
  • Natural Flavors
  • Onion Powder
  • Paprika
  • Parsley
  • Potato
  • Potato Flour
  • Potato Starch
  • Rice Flour
  • Salt
  • Sea Salt
  • Skim Milk
  • Sour Cream Powder
  • Spices
  • Sugar
  • Sunflower Oil
  • Tapioca Maltodextrin
  • Tapioca Starch
  • Tomato Powder
  • Turmeric Extract (Color)
  • Vinegar
  • Vinegar Powder
  • Whey
  • Whey Protein Concentrate
  • White Distilled Vinegar
  • Yeast Extract

[source]

As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Non-Vegan Ingredients

Milk

There are several ingredients that contains milk such as cheese, whey and milk that can be found in several flavors of Popchips. Cows milk is not vegan.

Questionable Ingredients

Sugar

Sugar can be a tricky ingredient because it can be made from several sources. Brown sugar and cane can be found on some labels and this can be troubling for some vegans. Cane sugar is the most common sugar in the candy and snack industry and this ingredient can sometimes be non-vegan.

The cane sugar is often refined to fit the product better and in this process the cane sugar is also bleached using bone char from dead cows. This is an issue for many because it’s essentially exploiting dead animals in the production process, making the product non-vegan.

Brown sugar is often made from raw cane sugar and that is 100% vegan-friendly.

Natural Flavors

Natural flavors is an umbrella term which means that both non-vegan and vegan ingredients can be found here. There is no way of knowing the source unless it’s disclosed.

There is an interesting article on National Geographic where they disclose the usage of butt goo from beavers in vanilla flavors. This shows that odd ingredients can be found and that vegans needs to careful when it comes to different flavor ingredients.

Enzymes

Enzymes can be made from both plants and animals.

FAQ

Are Popchips Vegetarian?

All flavors of Popchips are vegetarian because the only animal sourced ingredient is milk.

FlavorVegetarian Status
Popchips Sea SaltAll Vegetarians.
Popchips Sea Salt & VinegarAll Vegetarians.
Popchips Fully LoadedLacto-Ovo & Lacto.
Popchips Sour Cream & OnionLacto-Ovo & Lacto.
Popchips BBQLacto-Ovo & Lacto.
Popchips Aged White CheddarLacto-Ovo & Lacto.
Popchips Crazy HotLacto-Ovo & Lacto.
Popchips Fiery BuffaloLacto-Ovo & Lacto.

Conclusion

Two vegan flavors out of eight flavors in total is not bad.

With more and more people switching to a vegan diet, so will the vegan options as well. Many companies are making vegan alternatives for their customers and can only expect to see ever more in the future.

Hopefully Popchips will add more vegan flavors.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts