Are Pillsbury Crescent Rolls Vegan 2023? All Flavors Reviewed

Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

When it comes to convenient and delicious meal options, Pillsbury Crescent Rolls are an excellent choice. With their unique and versatile dough, they provide the perfect foundation for a variety of dishes from appetizers to desserts. But, are Pillsbury Crescent Rolls vegan?

Pillsbury Original Crescent Rolls, Reduced Fat Crescent Rolls, Original Crescent Dough Sheet are vegan because they don’t contain ingredients derived from animals.

Below is a table showing Pillsbury Crescent Rolls flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
Pillsbury Original Crescent RollsVegan.
Pillsbury Reduced Fat Crescent RollsVegan.
Pillsbury Butter Flake Crescent RollsMaybe, contains Natural Flavor and Mono- & Diglycerides.
Pillsbury Honey Butter Crescent RollsMaybe, contains Honey Butter Flavor.
Pillsbury Original Crescent RoundsVegan.
Pillsbury Original Crescent Dough SheetVegan.
Pillsbury Big & Buttery Crescent RollsMaybe, contains Natural Flavor.
Pillsbury Grands! Original Crescent RollsVegan.
Pillsbury Sweet Hawaiian Crescent RollsMaybe, contains Natural Flavor.
Pillsbury Filled Crescents AppleVegan.
Pillsbury Filled Crescents CherryMaybe, contains Natural Flavor and Artificial Colors.

Pillsbury Crescent Rolls Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.

  • Annatto Extract (For Color)
  • Ascorbic Acid
  • Baking Powder (Baking Soda
  • Beta Carotene [For Color])
  • Blue 1
  • Calcium Gluconate
  • Cherries With Erythorbic Acid And Ascorbic Acid To Protect Color
  • Citric Acid
  • Corn Starch
  • Corn Syrup
  • Dextrose
  • Dried Apples
  • Enriched Flour Bleached
  • Erythorbic Acid
  • Ferrous Sulfate
  • Folic Acid
  • Fractionated Palm Oil
  • Hydrogenated Palm Oil
  • Molasses
  • Mono- And Diglycerides
  • Monoglycerides
  • Natural And Artificial Flavor
  • Niacin
  • Potassium Chloride
  • Potassium Sorbate
  • Propylene Glycol Alginate
  • Red 40
  • Riboflavin
  • Salt
  • Sodium Acid Pyrophosphate
  • Sodium Aluminum Phosphate
  • Sodium Benzoate
  • Sodium Phosphate
  • Soybean Oil
  • Spice
  • Sucralose
  • Sugar
  • TBHQ
  • Thiamin Mononitrate
  • Vegetable Shortening
  • Vital Wheat Gluten
  • Water


As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Questionable Ingredients


Sugar is a tricky ingredient for vegans because there is an instance where sugar might be classified as non-vegan. The most common sugar types are beet sugar and cane sugar, with the latter being more common. Beet sugar and raw cane sugar is always vegan, but when it gets refined it can cause problems for vegans.

The cane sugar needs to be refined to fit the product and in this refining process the sugar is also bleached. A common method is to use bone char from dead cows and this does not align with veganism.

Natural Flavors

Natural flavors is an umbrella term, which means that companies can add whatever ingredient they wish to accomplish their taste inside natural flavors without needing to disclose all the ingredients.

It’s very important for vegans to be aware of this, because we can’t tell if the ingredient is vegan-friendly or not just by looking at the ingredients label. The only way to find out if it’s vegan is by contacting the company and ask.

Palm Oil

Palm oil is a very popular food oil in the world. It’s known for its incredible productivity per square meter and also for its high oil content. This is why it’s so lucrative to grow palm oil on massive farms.

The problem is that this oil is known for its devastating effects on the environment, such as deforestation. This is a very big problem for the ecosystem and the wild life. Orangutans and Rhinos are some of the animals that are being forced from their homes.

However there is a way to make the palm oil more vegan-friendly and it’s called RSPO. This is a non-profit organisation helps companies to produce and buy sustainable palm oil with minimal impact on the environment.

Artificial Colors

This is a very controversial ingredient within the vegans community. The main reason for this is the fact that the artificial colors haven been tested on animals. There are also other testing methods such as computer simulation that can do a great job instead.

There are also several health issues connected to these colors such as hyperactivity in kids. Ethical vegans tends to stay away from artificial colors, while dietary vegans might choose to consume them.

Soy & Corn

Corn and soy are two of the most common GMO crops in the US and many vegans will stay away from these. The reason for this is the high amount of herbicide that is needed in order for the crop to grow. This can pollute the surrounding ecosystem and damage it severely.

Mono- And Diglycerides

This ingredient can be made from both plants and animals.


It’s amazing that so many flavors of Pillsbury Crescent Rolls are vegan-friendly because they don’t contain ingredients derived from animals. Milk is a common ingredient that can be found in crescent rolls, but not when it comes to Pillsbury.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts