Free 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan


Our 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan is here! Download For Free!



Are Old Dutch Chips Vegan 2022? All Flavors Analyzed


Old Dutch was founded in 1934 and has served a lot of people tasty chips ever since. Even tho chips might seem to be vegan, that is not always the case. Some hidden ingredients could be non-vegan and today I’m going to answer the question, are Old Dutch chips vegan?

A lot of Old Dutch chips are vegan such as original, BBQ, All Dressed, Rip- L Potato and more. Parmesan & Black Pepper, Cheddar & Sour Cream, Creamy Dill and Sourcream and Onion are not vegan. The Ketchup flavor might be vegan, but contains Disodium Inosinate and Disodium Guanylate, which often contains ingredients derived from animals.

Below is a table that shows Old Dutch chips flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
OriginalVegan.
BBQVegan.
Parmesan & Black PepperNo, contains Milk.
All DressedMaybe, contains Natural Flavors.
Cheddar & Sour CreamNo, contains Milk.
Crispy BaconMaybe, contains Natural Flavors.
Dill PickleMaybe, contains Natural Flavors.
KetchupMaybe, contains Disodium Inosinate & Disodium Guanylate.
Au GratinMaybe, contains Natural Flavors.
Rip- L PotatoVegan.
Creamy DillNo, contains Milk.
Rip-L Lightly SaltedVegan.
Mexican ChiliMaybe, contains Natural Flavors.
Smokey BBQMaybe, contains Natural Flavors.
Rip-L Sourcream & OnionNo, contains Milk.
Roasted ChickenMaybe, contains Natural Flavors.
Salt n VinegarVegan.
Sourcream and OnionNo, contains Milk.

If you want some more alternatives then check out our top vegan chips list with over 130 flavors.

Old Dutch Chips Ingredients

Below are all the ingredient I could find from the Old Dutch Chips flavors I found.

  • Acetic Acid
  • Autolyzed Yeast Extract
  • Beet
  • Black Pepper
  • Calcium Lactate
  • Calcium Stearate
  • Caramel Colour
  • Cheddar And Blue Cheese Solids
  • Cheddar Cheese
  • Cheddar Cheese Solids
  • Citric Acid
  • Colour
  • Corn Maltodextrin
  • Cornstarch
  • Dextrose
  • Dehydrated Garlic
  • Dehydrated Onion
  • Dehydrated Parsley
  • Dehydrated Tomato
  • Dextrose
  • Dill Weed
  • Disodium Inosinate And Disodium Guanylate
  • Disodium Phosphate
  • Fancy Molasses
  • Garlic
  • Glucose Syrup
  • Herbs And Spices (Contain Dill)
  • High Oleic Sunflower Oil
  • Hydrolyzed Corn Protein
  • Inactive Yeast
  • Jalapeno Pepper
  • Lactic Acid
  • Malic Acid
  • Modified Cornstarch
  • Molasses Powder
  • Natural Flavour
  • Natural Smoke Flavour
  • Onion
  • Onion Powder
  • Parsley
  • Potatoes
  • Refiners’ Molasses
  • Rice Flour
  • Salt
  • Smoke Flavour
  • Sodium Acetate
  • Sodium Phosphate
  • Sour Cream Powder
  • Sour Cream Solids
  • Spices And Spice Extracts
  • Sugar
  • Sulphites
  • Tamarind
  • Toasted Onion
  • Torula Yeast
  • Vegetable Oil
  • Vinegar Solids
  • Worcestershire Sauce
  • Yeast Extract

[source]

Non-Vegan Ingredients

Milk

Some of the Old Dutch chips flavors contains milk ingredients:

  • Cheddar cheese
  • Sour Cream Powder
  • Sour Cream Solids

These can be made from other source than milk as well, but this is not the case here.

These ingredients are of course not vegan-friendly, because milk comes from a cow.

Questionable Ingredients

Sugar

Why would sugar be listed under questionable ingredients?

Well, that’s because of the presence of bone char.

The most common sugar used in the sugar & snacks industry is cane sugar.

More specifically refined cane sugar.

While raw cane sugar is vegan, refined cane sugar might not me and that all depends on what refining process that is used.

The most common process to refine cane sugar, does include bone char from dead cows in the bleaching process.

This make the ingredient non-vegan.

It’s worth mentioning tho, that beet sugar can used in a lot of products and it’s a 100% vegan-friendly sugar.

Natural & Smoke Flavour

Natural flavors can be a tricky ingredients as well as natural smoke flavor.

These are umbrella terms, which means that a lot of ingredient can be put in here, to not need to disclose so many ingredients on the product label.

This means that animal-derived ingredients more often that not can be put in natural flavors.

There is an example of this that National Geographic wrote an article about. They disclosed that butt goo from beavers could be found as an ingredient in vanilla flavors.

The only way to be sure is to contact the company and ask.

Corn

I thought I would just make a small mention of corn, which is the most common GMO crop in USA.

In order to get good yields, when growing GMO crops, a high amount of herbicide is needed.

This kills insects and can severely damage the surrounding ecosystem.

Ethical vegans tends to stay away from GMO corn.

Disodium Inosinate And Disodium Guanylate

Nothing much to say about these two ingredients other than animal-derived is commonly used and this why I can’t say that the Ketchup flavor is vegan, because we don’t know the origin of the ingredients here.

Vegan Alternatives To Old Dutch Chips

Even tho are a lot of vegan flavors of Old Dutch chips I still wanted to mention some other vegan alternatives.

They also offer some great vegan flavors that might suit your taste buds.

FAQ

Are Old Dutch Chips Vegetarian?

All flavors except Ketchup does fit the vegetarian diet. The reason the Ketchup flavor might not be vegetarian is because of the Disodium Inosinate & Disodium Guanylate, which often use ingredients that is derived from animals.

FlavorVegetarian Status
OriginalAll Vegetarians.
BBQAll Vegetarians.
Parmesan & Black PepperLacto & Lacto-Ovo
All DressedAll Vegetarians.
Cheddar & Sour CreamLacto & Lacto-Ovo
Crispy BaconAll Vegetarians.
Dill PickleAll Vegetarians.
KetchupMaybe, contains Disodium Inosinate & Disodium Guanylate.
Au GratinAll Vegetarians.
Rip- L PotatoAll Vegetarians.
Creamy DillLacto & Lacto-Ovo
Rip-L Lightly SaltedAll Vegetarians.
Mexican ChiliAll Vegetarians.
Smokey BBQAll Vegetarians.
Rip-L Sourcream & OnionAll Vegetarians.
Roasted ChickenAll Vegetarians.
Salt n VinegarAll Vegetarians.
Sourcream and OnionLacto & Lacto-Ovo

Are Old Dutch Chips Gluten-Free?

All flavors of Old Dutch Chips are gluten-free according to their website. None of their flavors contain or have had any contact with wheat ingredients.

Conclusion

I always thought that all chips were vegan, but when I turned vegan I realized, that this was not the case. There are so many flavors of chips that are non-vegan because of companies using ingredients derived from animals.

Many of the Old Dutch chips flavors are vegan, which is great! More vegan chips flavors to add to our vegan chips list.

Thanks for reading, stay vegan!

Recent Posts