Are Monster Munch Vegan 2023? All Flavors Analyzed

Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

Today we are taking a look at a Monster Munch. These monster snacks are enjoyed by many and has been around since 1977. These snacks are perfect for children’s parties or family movies nights. One question does still remain, are Monster Munch Vegan?

Monster Munch is not vegan. All flavors contains milk which is not vegan. Monster Munch also questions numerous questionable ingredients such as Disodium 5’Ribonucleotide, Niacin and Thiamin that can be derived from animal sources.

Below is a table showing Monster Munch flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan StatusLink
Monster Munch Roast BeefNo, contains Milk.View On Amazon
Monster Munch Flamin’ HotNo, contains Milk.View On Amazon
Monster Munch Pickled OnionNo, contains Milk.View On Amazon

Monster Munch Ingredients

Below are the ingredients that can be found for the three Monster Munch flavors.

  • Citric Acid
  • Colour (Ammonia Caramel & Paprika Extract)
  • Curcumin (from Wheat)
  • Disodium 5’Ribonucleotide
  • Flavourings
  • Fructose
  • Garlic Powder
  • Hydrolysed Soya Protein
  • Iron
  • Lactose (from Milk)
  • Maize
  • Malic Acid
  • Milk
  • Monosodium Glutamate
  • Niacin
  • Onion Powder
  • Pickled Onion Seasoning
  • Potassium Chloride
  • Rapeseed Oil
  • Roast Beef Flavouring
  • Salt
  • Spice
  • Sugar
  • Thiamin
  • Wheat


Some of these ingredients are highlighted that we need to take a closer look at.

Non-Vegan Ingredients


Milk and Lactose can be found in Monster Munch and these ingredients are not vegan since it comes from cows.

Questionable Ingredients


I want to start with saying that there are no animal-derived ingredients in sugar, thus making it vegan. In the candy and snacks industry, refined cane sugar is commonly used and there is a chance that this type of sugar is not vegan-friendly.

The cane sugar needs to go through a refining process in order fit the candy or snack better and in this process the cane sugar is also bleached. It’s natural color is more brownish. In the bleaching process a common practice is using bone char from dead cows.

This can make can sugar a very troubling ingredient for vegans and if animals are involved in the production process, refined cane sugar be classified as non-vegan. The second option for sugar is beet sugar. This sugar is always 100% vegan-friendly.

Disodium 5’Ribonucleotide, Niacin, Thiamin & Iron

The problem with these four ingredients is the fact that they can all be sourced from both animals and plants. There is no way of knowing unless the company discloses the source or if you contact the company and ask.


Now flavorings can be a tricky ingredients. It kinda works as an umbrella term and a lot of ingredients can be hidden here.

Hydrolysed Soya Protein

When it comes to Soy, the only issue is if it’s grown in the USA. It’s one of the most common GMO crops and high usage of herbicide can damage surrounding ecosystems and this can be an issue for many vegans.

Vegan Alternative To Monster Munch

So far I’ve not found an alternative to Monster Munch.


Are Monster Munch Vegetarian?

All flavors of Monster Much is vegetarian. More specifically Lacto-Ovo and Lacto vegetarians can eat Monster Munch.

FlavorVegan Status
Monster Munch Roast BeefLacto-Ovo & Lacto.
Monster Munch Flamin’ HotLacto-Ovo & Lacto.
Monster Munch Pickled OnionLacto-Ovo & Lacto.

Are Monster Munch Gluten-Free?

Monster Munch contains wheat and is not gluten-free unfortunately.


Knowing which products are vegan or not can be hard even today. That’s why I created this blog to help vegans find and determine if a product is vegan.

More and more companies are adding a vegan option and hopefully so will Monster Munch in the future.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts