Free 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan


Our 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan is here! Download For Free!



Are Miss Vickie’s Chips Vegan 2022? All Flavors Reviewed


Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

Miss Vickie’s potato chips are kettle cooked produced by Frito-Lay, with a wide range of flavors. Whether you are having a movie night or a party they will fit the occasion. However, are Miss Vickie’s chips vegan?

Miss Vickie’s Kettle Cooked Potato Chips Original, Reduced Fat and Unsalted are vegan because they don’t contain any ingredients derived from animals. The rest of the flavors contains milk or honey and are not vegan.

Below is a table showing Miss Vickie’s chips flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
Miss Vickie’s Kettle Cooked Potato Chips OriginalVegan.
Miss Vickie’s Kettle Cooked Potato Chips Sweet & Spicy KetchupMaybe, contains Natural Flavor.
Miss Vickie’s Kettle Cooked Potato Chips Spicy Dill PickleMaybe, contains Natural Flavor.
Miss Vickie’s Kettle Cooked Potato Chips Reduced FatVegan.
Miss Vickie’s Kettle Cooked Potato Chips UnsaltedVegan.
Miss Vickie’s Kettle Cooked Potato Chips Honey DijonNo, contains Honey.
Miss Vickie’s Kettle Cooked Potato Chips JalapenoNo, contains Milk.
Miss Vickie’s Kettle Cooked Potato Chips Sea Salt & Malt VinegarNo, contains Milk.
Miss Vickie’s Kettle Cooked Potato Chips Sweet Southern BBQNo, contains Milk.
Miss Vickie’s Kettle Cooked Potato Chips Applewood Smoked BBQNo, contains Milk.
Miss Vickie’s Kettle Cooked Potato Chips Sour Cream & Caramelized OnionNo, contains Milk.
Miss Vickie’s Kettle Cooked Potato Chips Sweet Chili & Sour CreamNo, contains Milk.
Miss Vickie’s Kettle Cooked Potato Chips Lime & Black PepperNo, contains Milk.

For more vegan chips options make sure to check out our vegan chips top list.

Miss Vickie’s Chips Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.

  • Acacia
  • Acetic Acid
  • Black Carrot Juice
  • Barley
  • Black Pepper
  • Brown Sugar
  • Buttermilk Powder
  • Calcium Lactate
  • Citric Acid
  • Corn Maltodextrin
  • Dehydrated Garlic
  • Dehydrated Onion
  • Dextrose
  • Fancy Molasses Solids
  • Garlic Powder
  • Glucose Solids
  • Green Bell Pepper Powder
  • Herbs And Spices
  • Honey Solids
  • Jalapeno Pepper Powder
  • Lactic Acid
  • Malic Acid
  • Malt Vinegar Solids
  • Modified Corn Starch
  • Molasses Powder
  • Mono-And Diglycerides
  • Mustard Seed Oil
  • Natural Flavour
  • Onion Powder
  • Paprika
  • Paprika Extract
  • Potatoes
  • Potassium Chloride
  • Red Radish Juice
  • Salt
  • Sea Salt
  • Seasoning
  • Sodium Acetate
  • Sodium Diacetate
  • Sour Cream
  • Spices
  • Sugar
  • Tomato Powder
  • Torula Yeast
  • Vegetable Oil
  • Whey
  • Yeast

[Source]

As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Non-Vegan Ingredients

Milk

There are several ingredients made by milk such as whey, buttermilk powder and sour cream that can be found in some of the Miss Vickie’s chips flavors.

Cows milk is not vegan.

Honey

Another ingredient that is not vegan is honey.

The honey is extracted and replace with sugar and this kind of exploit is not okay by vegans.

Questionable Ingredients

Sugar

This ingredient can be found in more chips flavors that you might think. Beet sugar and cane sugar is popular with cane sugar being the most commonly used sugar in the candy and snacks industry.

Cane sugar in it’s raw for is always 100% vegan-friendly, however if the cane sugar is refined then there is a chance that the production process makes it non-vegan.

In the refining process the cane sugar is also bleached and a very common method is to use bone char from dead cows. Exploiting animals in the production process does not align well with veganism and if this is the case then the refined cane sugar would not be classified as vegan.

Natural Flavour

Natural flavour is a common ingredient in many chips flavors. Companies can put ingredients here without needing to disclose them on the label. This causes a problem for vegan because it can be ingredients from both animals and plants.

This ingredient is vegan most of the times and companies often discloses if it contains milk.

Corn

I put corn here just to mention the fact that it’s the most common GMO crop in USA. Some vegans tends to stay away from GMO crops because of high amount of herbicide needed to gain good yields. This can damage the surrounding ecosystem.

Mono-And Diglycerides

This ingredient can be made from both animals or plants.

FAQ

Are Miss Vickie’s Chips Vegetarian?

There are several flavors that are suited for all vegetarians such as Original, Sweet & Spicy Ketchup, Spicy Dill Pickle, Reduced Fat, Unsalted and Honey Dijon. The rest of the flavors are suited for lacto-ovo and lacto vegetarians.

FlavorVegetarian Status
Miss Vickie’s Kettle Cooked Potato Chips OriginalAll Vegetarians.
Miss Vickie’s Kettle Cooked Potato Chips Sweet & Spicy KetchupAll Vegetarians.
Miss Vickie’s Kettle Cooked Potato Chips Spicy Dill PickleAll Vegetarians.
Miss Vickie’s Kettle Cooked Potato Chips Reduced FatAll Vegetarians.
Miss Vickie’s Kettle Cooked Potato Chips UnsaltedAll Vegetarians.
Miss Vickie’s Kettle Cooked Potato Chips Honey DijonAll Vegetarians.
Miss Vickie’s Kettle Cooked Potato Chips JalapenoLacto-Ovo & Lacto.
Miss Vickie’s Kettle Cooked Potato Chips Sea Salt & Malt VinegarLacto-Ovo & Lacto.
Miss Vickie’s Kettle Cooked Potato Chips Sweet Southern BBQLacto-Ovo & Lacto.
Miss Vickie’s Kettle Cooked Potato Chips Applewood Smoked BBQLacto-Ovo & Lacto.
Miss Vickie’s Kettle Cooked Potato Chips Sour Cream & Caramelized OnionLacto-Ovo & Lacto.
Miss Vickie’s Kettle Cooked Potato Chips Sweet Chili & Sour CreamLacto-Ovo & Lacto.
Miss Vickie’s Kettle Cooked Potato Chips Lime & Black PepperLacto-Ovo & Lacto.

Conclusion

Five vegan flavors is not bad at all.

As you can see milk is used in a lot of the flavors making them non-vegan.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts