Free 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan


Our 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan is here! Download For Free!



Are Market Pantry Potato Chips Vegan 2022? All Flavors Reviewed


Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

So I was at the store looking for new vegan potato chips flavors and I saw Market Pantry, which I’ve actually never eaten before. I went through all ingredients labels for the flavors I found and today I’m answering the question, are Market Pantry potato chips vegan?

Market Pantry Potato Chips Ripple and Classic are vegan because they don’t contain any animal-derived ingredients.

Below is a table showing Market Pantry chips flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
Market Pantry Potato Chips Ripple Vegan.
Market Pantry ClassicVegan.
Market Pantry Potato Chips BarbecueMaybe, contains Natural Flavor.
Market Pantry Potato Chips Sour Cream & OnionNo, contains Milk.
Market Pantry Potato Chips Cheddar and Sour Cream RippleNo, contains Milk.
Market Pantry Potato Chips Salt & VinegarNo, contains Milk.

For more options then make sure to check out our best vegan chips list with over 130 flavors added.

Market Pantry Potato Chips Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.

  • Artificial Color (Yellow 6)
  • Canola Oil
  • Cheddar Cheese
  • Citric Acid
  • Corn Oil
  • Cultured Buttermilk
  • Dehydrated Garlic
  • Dehydrated Onion
  • Dehydrated Tomato
  • Dextrose
  • Disodium Inosinate & Disodium Guanylate
  • Enzymes
  • Extractives Of Annatto
  • Garlic Powder
  • Lactic Acid
  • Lactose
  • Malic Acid
  • Maltodextrin
  • Modified Corn Starch
  • Natural Blue Cheese Flavor
  • Natural Flavors
  • Nonfat Dry Milk
  • Oleoresin Of Paprika (Color)
  • Onion Powder
  • Paprika
  • Parsley
  • Potatoes
  • Reduced Lactose Whey
  • Salt
  • Sea Salt
  • Sodium Citrate
  • Sodium Diacetate
  • Sour Cream
  • Spices
  • Sugar
  • Sunflower
  • Torula Yeast
  • Vinegar Powder
  • Whey
  • White Distilled Vinegar

[Source]

As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Non-Vegan Ingredients

Milk

Some popular ingredient made by milk such as whey, lactose and cheese can be found in some of the flavors.

Cow’s milk as you might know is not vegan, which makes all these ingredients non-vegan as well.

Questionable Ingredients

Artificial Colors

The use of artificial colors is not common when it comes to potato chips. But in one flavor yellow 6 is used and this is a highly controversial ingredient for many vegans. The issue is that animal testing is still being performed, when other method such as computer simulations could be used instead.

What I’ve seen is that dietary vegans sometimes consume artificial colors while ethical vegans tends to stay away from it completely. Since the flavor containing yellow 6 also has milk in it, the flavor would be classified as non-vegan anyway.

What i’m trying to say is that it’s up to you if you want to consume artificial colors or not.

Sugar

Different types of sugar is common in potato chips. In snacks and candy, cane sugar is the most popular. This raises an issue for many vegans. The cane sugar is often refined to fit the product better and this is where the problem lies.

In the refining process the sugar is also bleached and a common practice is to use bone char from dead cows. If the sugar uses these this bleaching method then many vegans would consider the sugar non-vegan.

Natural Flavors

Natural flavors is also an ingredient that vegans needs to be aware of, because it’s very easy to put animal-derived ingredients here and only needing to call it natural flavors.

There is an interesting article on National Geographic, where they discovered that butt goo from beavers can be used in vanilla flavors. If you want to read more you can check it out here.

Disodium Inosinate & Disodium Guanylate

This is an ingredients that vegans needs to be careful with. It’s more often that not a non-vegan ingredient, but it can also be made from plant-based sources.

FAQ

Are Market Pantry Potato Chips Vegetarian?

Market Pantry Potato Chips Ripple, Classic and Barbecue are suited for all vegetarians, while the rest of flavors contains milk and are suited for lacto-ovo and lacto vegetarians.

FlavorVegetarian Status
Market Pantry Potato Chips Ripple All Vegetarians.
Market Pantry ClassicAll Vegetarians.
Market Pantry Potato Chips BarbecueAll Vegetarians.
Market Pantry Potato Chips Sour Cream & OnionLacto-Ovo & Lacto.
Market Pantry Potato Chips Cheddar and Sour Cream RippleLacto-Ovo & Lacto.
Market Pantry Potato Chips Salt & VinegarLacto-Ovo & Lacto.

Conclusion

Three out of six flavors being vegan is great.

As you can see, milk is popular and is used in many potato chips flavors.

I hope you found this article helpful.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts