Free 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan


Our 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan is here! Download For Free!



Are Mallomars Vegan 2022? All Flavors Reviewed


Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

Mallomars are a chocolate-coated marshmallow cookie that was created by Nabisco in 1913. Mallomars are only available during the fall and winter months, which makes them a seasonal treat. But, are Mallomars vegan?

Mallomars are not vegan because they contain gelatin.

Below is a table showing Mallomars flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
Mallomars Chocolate CookiesNo, contains Gelatin.

Mallomars Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.

  • Artificial Flavor
  • Calcium Phosphate
  • Chocolate
  • Chocolate Processed With Alkali
  • Cocoa Butter
  • Corn Syrup
  • Folic Acid
  • Gelatin
  • High Fructose Corn Syrup
  • Invert Sugar
  • Leavening (Baking Soda
  • Niacin
  • Palm Oil
  • Reduced Iron
  • Riboflavin (Vitamin B2)
  • Salt
  • Soy Lecithin
  • Soybean And/or Canola Oil
  • Sugar
  • Sweet Chocolate Coating
  • Thiamine Mononitrate (vitamin B1)
  • Unbleached Enriched Flour (Wheat Flour
  • Water

[Source]

As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Non-Vegan Ingredients

Gelatin

Gelatin is generally made from bones and ligaments., making this ingredient non-vegan.

Questionable Ingredients

Sugar

Sugar is a tricky ingredient for vegan because there is an instance where bone char could be used in the production process and that would classify the sugar as non-vegan. Beet sugar and raw cane sugar is always vegan-friendly, but refined cane sugar might not be.

Before the cane sugar is used in a product it’s often refined and in this process the sugar is also bleached. Unfortunately one of the most common methods to bleach the sugar is to use bone char from dead cows.

Exploiting animals in the production process does not align with veganism and many vegan are therefore staying away from cane sugar and sometimes all types of sugar because the source of the sugar often not disclosed on the ingredients label.

Palm Oil

Palm oil is a very controversial ingredient and has made it name through the world as one of the destructive industries to the environment. The palm oil industry is responsible for a severe deforestation forcing wildlife away from their natural habitats.

To fix this, a non-profit organisation called RSPO was creating to help companies produce sustainable palm oil with minimum impact on the environment. This option of palm oil is more vegan-friendly and product with this certification can pass the reviewing process from a trusted organisation such as Vegan.org or VeganSociety.com.

Soy

Depending on where you live soy can be a problem for vegans. In the US, soy is one of the most common GMO crops and the problem with this is the high amount herbicide that is needed in order for it grow properly.

The herbicide can in return pollute the surrounding ecosystem and damage it beyond repair. Therefore many vegans tends to look for products that has a label from the organization non GMO Project. It’s a very to ensure the buyer that no GMO crops are being used in the product.

Conclusion

I really miss Mallomars Chocolate Cookies because it’s of my strongest memories growing up and eating them at my grandparents. If we are lucky maybe they can make a vegan alternative in the future.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts