Free 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan


Our 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan is here! Download For Free!



Are Little Becky Mini Marshmallows Vegan 2022?


Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

Whether you are out camping or taking a picnic, mini marshmallows are always welcome. Together with some hot coco and you have yourself a treat. Knowing which products is vegan or not can sometimes be tricky, so today I will be answering the questions, are Little Becky Mini Marshmallows vegan?

Little Becky Mini Marshmallows are not vegan. They contain gelatin, which is made from the skin of cows. There are also several questionable ingredients such as sugar & flavoring that could contain non-vegan ingredients.

It’s not that easy to find vegan marshmallows today, however I found a great 100% vegan-friendly marshmallow that you can read more about later in this article. Now let’s dive into the ingredients for Little Becky Mini Marshmallows.

Little Becky Mini Marshmallows Ingredients

Below are the ingredients found in Little Becky Mini Marshmallows.

  • Corn Syrup
  • Sugar
  • Corn Starch
  • Gelatin
  • Water
  • Dextrose
  • Flavoring
  • Stabilizer E450

I have highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Non-Vegan Ingredients

Gelatin

Gelatin is a known non-vegan ingredient in the vegan community.

It’s made from the skin of dead cows.

Questionable Ingredients

Sugar & Dextrose

Sugar is a highly questionable ingredient in the candy industry.

Refined cane sugar is the most common sugar used and this be a problem for vegans.

The reason for this is the fact that in order to make cane sugar fit candy and sweets better it needs to be refined. In this process it’s common to use bow char from dead cows in the bleaching process.

Now there is no evidence that the bone char would somehow contaminate the sugar, but the mere fact that bone char is used in the production process will make it not vegan-friendly.

Sometimes if lucky, companies use beet sugar instead and this is 100% vegan-friendly. If the cane sugar is raw then that is too vegan-friendly, it’s only when it becomes refined, when vegans tends to stay away from it.

Most of the times the company does not disclose which sugar is used and the only way to be sure is to contact the company and ask.

Corn Syrup & Corn Starch

Corn does not contain any animal-derived ingredients and is vegan.

However corn is the most common GMO crop in USA and this can cause some problems for ethical vegans. GMO crops to use high amounts of herbicide and this can damage the surrounding ecosystem.

Flavoring

Now flavoring can be a tricky ingredient much like natural flavors, because companies do not have to disclose ingredients it consists of, hence the term umbrella ingredients.

This ingredient can much likely be made of ingredients derived from animals, but also plants.

Best is to ask the company about the contents of their flavoring.

Vegan Alternative To Little Becky Mini Marshmallows

I managed to find a great vegan alternative called Dandies.

FAQ’s

Are Product Vegetarian?

Little Becky Mini Marshmallows are not vegetarian because they contain gelatin, which is made from skin of dead cows.

Conclusion

Finding vegan marshmallows can be a bit tricky because a lot of the products found today contains gelatin and Little Becky Mini Marshmallows is not an exception.

Luckily I found a vegan alternative that tastes amazing.

Thanks for reading, stay vegan!

Recent Posts