Free 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan


Our 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan is here! Download For Free!



Are Kraft Jet Puffed Marshmallows Vegan 2022?


Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

Kraft Jet Puffed Marshmallows are a popular treat that can be enjoyed in many ways. Whether you roast them over a fire, use them in a recipe, or just eat them straight out of the bag, marshmallows are a delicious treat that many can enjoy. But, are Kraft Jet Puffed Marshmallows vegan?

Kraft Jet Puffed Marshmallows are not vegan because they contain gelatin, which is made from animals.

Below is a table showing Kraft Jet Puffed Marshmallows flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
Kraft Jet Puffed MarshmallowsNo, contains Gelatin.

Kraft Jet Puffed Marshmallows Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.

  • Corn Syrup
  • Sugar
  • Dextrose
  • Modified Cornstarch
  • Water
  • Gelatin
  • Tetrasodium Pyrophosphate (Whipping Aid)
  • Natural And Artificial Flavor
  • Blue 1

[Source]

As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Non-Vegan Ingredients

Gelatin

Gelatin is sourced from animals and is not a vegan-friendly ingredient.

Questionable Ingredients

Sugar

Sugar is a very common ingredient in marshmallows and it can cause problems for some vegans. Two of the most common sugar types used are beet sugar and cane sugar. If cane sugar is used, it’s often refined to fit the product better.

In this refining process the sugar is also bleached and the one of the most common methods is to use bone char from dead cows. This raises an issue for many vegans because exploiting animals in the production process does make that product not vegan-friendly.

Natural and Artificial Flavor

Natural flavors is a very common ingredient in many food products, because it’s a way for the company to hide their ingredients without them being disclosed elsewhere. Natural flavors does therefore often consist of several ingredients.

The problem with this is the source of these ingredients is not not disclosed, meaning that natural flavors could contain ingredients sourced from animals. The best way is often to contact the company and ask.

Artificial Colors

Artificial colors is a highly controversial ingredient within the vegan community. The reason for this is the fact that is has been tested on animals for many years and the testing might still be going on to this day. The uncertainty about this makes many vegans to stay away from artificial colors.

Some dietary vegans still choose to consume products with these colors. However there are also some health issues connected to these colors such as hyperactivity in kids. There are other testing methods such as computer simulations that can do a great job at replacing animal testing.

Corn

Corn is of the most common GMO crop in USA and corn is very popular in many food products. There is a problem however with GMO crops and that’s the high amount of herbicide needed for the corn to grow.

This can pollute the surrounding environment, damaging the ecosystem severely. Therefore many vegans tries to stay away from GMOs and look for products that has the label non GMO project. This label ensures the consumer that no GMOs are used as ingredients.

Vegan Alternative To Kraft Jet Pack Marshmallows

I found a great vegan alternative called Dandies Vegan Marshmallows, which are delicious.

Conclusion

Marshmallows is very often not vegan-friendly and the reason for it is the ingredient gelatin that is often used. However that does not mean that there aren’t any vegan marshmallow products. Like mentioned earlier the Dandies Vegan Marshmallows are an amazing alternative.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts