Free 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan


Our 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan is here! Download For Free!



Are Kettle Brand Chips Vegan 2022? All Flavors Reviewed


Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

Today we are going to take a look at Kettle Brand potato chips. They have been a favorite for many people ever since 1978. Kettle Brand chips are crunchy and tasty, with a wide range of flavors to choose from. It looks like these chips can fit many lifestyles, but are Kettle Brand chips vegan?

Kettle Brand Sea Salt Chips, Krinkle Cut Habanero Lime Chips, Krinkle Cut Salt & Fresh Ground Pepper, Organic Country Style Barbeque, Organic Salt & Fresh Ground Pepper and Organic Sea Salt are vegan because they don’t contain any ingredients derived from animals.

Below is a table showing Kettle Brand flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
Kettle Brand Jalapeno Potato Chips Maybe, contains Natural Flavors.
Kettle Brand Honey DijonNo, contains Honey.
Kettle Brand Farmstand Ranch ChipsNo, contains Milk.
Kettle Brand Bourbon Barbecue ChipsMaybe, contains Natural Flavors.
Kettle Brand Korean Barbecue ChipsMaybe, contains Natural Flavors.
Kettle Brand Sea Salt ChipsVegan.
Kettle Brand New York Cheddar ChipsNo, contains Milk.
Kettle Brand Krinkle Cut Dill Pickle ChipsMaybe, contains Natural Flavors.
Kettle Brand Krinkle Cut Habanero Lime ChipsVegan.
Kettle Brand Krinkle Cut Salt & Fresh Ground PepperVegan.
Kettle Brand Krinkle Cut Truffle + Sea SaltMaybe, contains Natural Flavors.
Kettle Brand Organic Country Style BarbequeVegan.
Kettle Brand Organic Salt & Fresh Ground PepperVegan.
Kettle Brand Organic Sea SaltVegan.

Make sure to check out our best vegan chips list for more amazing chips.

Kettle Brand Potato Chips Ingredients

Below is a compiled list of ingredients from all the Kettle Brand chips flavors that I could find.

  • Black Pepper
  • Bourbon
  • Brown Sugar
  • Cheddar
  • Cheese
  • Citric Acid
  • Cream
  • Canola Oil
  • Cultures
  • Dextrose
  • Enzyme
  • Garlic Powder
  • Gum Arabic
  • Habanero Peppers
  • Habanero and Chili Pepper Extracts
  • Honey
  • Jalapeño Powder
  • Lactic Acid
  • Lime Juice Concentrate Solids
  • Lime Oil
  • Maltodextrin
  • Modified Corn Starch
  • Molasses Powder
  • Mustard Seeds
  • Natural Flavors
  • Natural Smoke Flavor
  • Nonfat Milk
  • Onion Powder
  • Organic Cultured Cream
  • Organic Dried Cane Syrup
  • Organic Nonfat Dry Milk
  • Organic Sour Cream
  • Organic potatoes
  • Organic Black Pepper
  • Organic Brown Rice Flour
  • Organic Dried Cane Syrup
  • Organic Garlic Powder
  • Organic Jalapeño Powder
  • Organic Onion Powder
  • Organic Paprika
  • Organic Rice Concentrate
  • Organic Safflower And/or Sunflower Oil
  • Organic Spices
  • Organic Tomato Powder
  • Paprika
  • Parsley
  • Parsley Flakes
  • Potatoes
  • Rice Flour
  • Safflower Oil
  • Sunflower Oil
  • Salt
  • Sea Salt
  • Spices
  • Sugar
  • Tomato Powder
  • Torula Yeast
  • Truffle
  • Turmeric
  • Vinegar
  • Whey
  • Yeast Extract
  • Citric acid

[Source]

As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Non-Vegan Ingredients

Milk

The following ingredients contains milk in some of the Kettle Brand chips flavors:

  • Cheddar
  • Cheese
  • Cream
  • Sour Cream
  • Whey

Since these ingredients are made with cows milk, they are not vegan.

Honey

Honey is also an ingredient that can’t be classified as vegan.

The bees are exploited for their honey and are left with sugar instead.

Questionable Ingredients

Sugar

There are several forms of sugar that can be found throughout the flavors of Kettle Brand potato chips such as brown sugar, dextrose, organic dried cane syrup and regular sugar. These ingredients are highly questionable because the most commonly used sugar in snacks and candy is refined cane sugar.

The problem with this sugar is in the refining process. The sugar gets bleached and a common procedure is to use bone char from dead cows, which is very upsetting to the vegan community. All the sudden an ingredient such sugar becomes non-vegan. Even tho the cows are already dead for another purpose, it’s still using animal ingredient to produce ther sugar.

Now there are no evidence of the sugar being contaminated from the bone char. Brown sugar is often raw cane sugar and is 100% vegan-friendly. So is beet sugar as well.

Natural Flavors & Spices

Natural flavors and spices are highly questionable ingredients. It’s because they can contain both animal and plant-based ingredients. There are cases where butt goo from beavers are used in vanilla flavors, this was revealed by National Geographic.

Vegans should always be careful when it comes to natural flavors. The only way to be sure of the source is to contact the company and ask.

Enzyme

This ingredients can be made from both animals and plants.

FAQ

Are Kettle Brand Chips Vegetarian?

All flavors of Kettle Brand chips are suited for all vegetarians with the exception of Kettle Brand Farmstand Ranch Chips and Kettle Brand New York Cheddar Chips which are only suited for lacto-ovo and lacto vegetarians.

FlavorVegetarian Status
Kettle Brand Jalapeno Potato Chips All Vegetarians.
Kettle Brand Honey DijonAll Vegetarians.
Kettle Brand Farmstand Ranch ChipsLacto-Ovo & Lacto.
Kettle Brand Bourbon Barbecue ChipsAll Vegetarians.
Kettle Brand Korean Barbecue ChipsAll Vegetarians.
Kettle Brand Sea Salt ChipsAll Vegetarians.
Kettle Brand New York Cheddar ChipsLacto-Ovo & Lacto.
Kettle Brand Krinkle Cut Dill Pickle ChipsAll Vegetarians.
Kettle Brand Krinkle Cut Habanero Lime ChipsAll Vegetarians.
Kettle Brand Krinkle Cut Salt & Fresh Ground Pepper Kettle Brand ChipsAll Vegetarians.
Kettle Brand Krinkle Cut Truffle + Sea SaltAll Vegetarians.
Kettle Brand Organic Country Style BarbequeAll Vegetarians.
Kettle Brand Organic Salt & Fresh Ground PepperAll Vegetarians.
Kettle Brand Organic Sea SaltAll Vegetarians.

Are Kettle Brand Chips Gluten-Free?

All flavors of Kettle Brand potato chips are gluten-free.

Are Kettle Brand Chips Dairy-free?

All flavors except Kettle Brand Farmstand Ranch Chips and Kettle Brand New York Cheddar Chips are dairy-free.

Conclusion

It’s great that so many of the Kettle Brand potato chips flavors are vegan-friendly.

You might think that chips would always be vegan, but that is really not the case. A lot of chips flavors contains milk and other animal-derived ingredients, which might not make any sense, because the main ingredients is often potatoes.

More companies are realizing this and offering more and more vegan alternatives to their customers.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts