Are JujyFruits Vegan 2023? All Flavors Reviewed

Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

JuJufruits are sweet, chewy candies that have been around for decades. These small, colorful pieces of candy are beloved by children and adults alike for their unique texture and delicious taste. JuJufruits come in several different flavors and colors, making them an ideal choice for any occasion. But, are Jujyfruits vegan?

Jujufruits might be suited for dietary vegans, but they contain natural flavors, which could contain ingredients derived from animals. Since it contains artificial colors, Jujufruits are not suitable for ethical vegans.

Below is a table showing Jujufruits flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
Jujyfruits Resealable BagMaybe, contains Natural Flavors.
Jujyfruits Theater BoxMaybe, contains Natural Flavors.

Jujufruits Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.

  • Corn Syrup
  • Sugar
  • Modified Food Starch (Corn)
  • Cornstarch
  • Natural and Artificial Flavors
  • White Mineral Oil
  • Carnauba Wax
  • Caramel Color
  • Blue 1
  • Yellow 6
  • Red 40
  • Yellow 5


As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Questionable Ingredients


Sugar is a tricky ingredient for vegans because there is an instance where sugar could be classified as non-vegan. Two of the most common sugar types are beet sugar and cane sugar, with the latter being the most common.

Beet sugar and raw cane sugar are always vegan-friendly, but when the cane sugar gets refined it can cause problems for vegans. In the refining process the sugar is also bleached, where a common method is to use bone char from dead cows.

Exploiting dead animals in the production process would technically make the product non-vegan.

Natural Flavors

This is an ingredient that is often used in many snacks and it’s often hard to determine if it’s vegan-friendly or not. The reason for that is because natural flavors is an umbrella term, meaning that it can consist of several ingredients and the source of these ingredients are not disclosed on the ingredients label.

So all natural flavors could contain ingredients that are sourced from animals and vegans would never know. If you want to be sure about this ingredient, the best option is to contact the company and ask.

Artificial Colors

The next controversial ingredient are artificial colors. The vegan community is torn about this ingredient and I will try and explain why as good as I can.

The main issue is the animal testing might still being conducted. It’s very old and outdated method of performing tests. There are several modern ways to performs tests and of them is computer simulations, which can yield great results.

So while animal testing might still be a risk of being conducted, I tend to stay away from artificial colors. I look at this way, the day that they stop the animal testing on artificial colors is the day that this ingredient can become an option for vegans.


Corn is one of the most common GMO crops in USA. This ingredient can be a problem for many ethical vegans since it requires a high amount of herbicide in order for the crops to grow properly. The herbicide can pollute the surrounding ecosystem and damage it severely.

Many ethical vegans tends to look for products that has the label non GMO project, because that way we can be sure that no ingredients contain GMO’s.

Vegan Alternative To Jujufruits

There are some great vegan alternatives to Jujufruits and one of my favorites is YumEarth. They are vegan-certified and taste amazing.


So there is a possibility that Jujufruits are suited for dietary vegans and the only ingredient that is questionable is natural flavors. I contacted the company regarding this ingredients and I will update the article once I get an answer.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts