Free 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan


Our 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan is here! Download For Free!



Are Hula Hoops Vegan 2022? List Of Vegan Flavors


Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

Hula Hoops are tasty cylinder snacks produced by a company called KP Snacks. They were introduced in 1973 and has been a favorite snack for many families ever since. With many flavors to choose from, they can fit many occasions from movie nights to parties. But, are Hula Hoops vegan?

There are many flavors of Hula Hoops that are vegan such as Hula Hoops Original and Hula Hoops Salt & Vinegar just to name a few. Hula Hoops BBQ Beef, Hula Hoops Cheese & Onion, Hula Hoops Roast Chicken, Hula Hoops Flavarings Tangy Cheese and Hula Hoops Big Hoops BBQ Beef are not vegan because they all have milk in them.

Below is a table showing all Hula Hoops flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
Hula Hoops OriginalVegan.
Hula Hoops Salt & VinegarVegan.
Hula Hoops BBQ BeefNo, contains Milk.
Hula Hoops Cheese & OnionNo, contains Milk.
Hula Hoops Roast ChickenNo, contains Milk.
Hula Hoops Smokey BaconVegan.
Hula Hoops Flavarings SpicyVegan.
Hula Hoops Flavarings Tangy CheeseNo, contains Milk.
Hula Hoops Flavarings Salt & VinegarVegan.
Hula Hoops Big Hoops Spicy ChiliVegan.
Hula Hoops Big Hoops SaltedVegan.
Hula Hoops Big Hoops BBQ BeefNo, contains Milk.
Hula Hoops Big Hoops Salt & VinegarVegan.
Hula Hoops Puft SaltedVegan.
Hula Hoops Puft Sweet ChilliVegan.
Hula Hoops Puft Salt & VinegarVegan.
Hula Hoops Puft BeefVegan.

Hula Hoops Ingredients

Below are ingredients that I found throughout the Hula Hoops flavors.

  • Acid: Citric Acid
  • Black Pepper Extract
  • Cayenne Extract
  • Cayenne Pepper
  • Colour: Paprika Extract
  • Corn Flour
  • Dextrose
  • Dried Cheese (Milk)
  • Dried Garlic
  • Dried Ginger
  • Dried Onion
  • Dried Palm Fat (Contains Milk Protein)
  • Dried Potato
  • Dried Tomato
  • Dried Whey (Milk)
  • Dried Yeast
  • Dried Yeast Extract
  • Emulsifer: E471
  • Flavourings
  • Glucose Syrup
  • Ground Cumin
  • Ground Sage
  • Hot Paprika Powder
  • Maize Flour
  • Maize Starch
  • Malic Acid
  • Maltodextrin
  • Natural Flavouring
  • Natural Flavouring (Contains Milk)
  • Onion Extract
  • Potassium Chloride
  • Potato (Potato Starch & Dried Potato)
  • Rice Flour
  • Salt
  • Smoked Dextrose
  • Spice & Herb
  • Spice Extract
  • Sugar
  • Sunflower Oil
  • Wheat Flour
  • Yeast Extract

[source]

I’ve highlighted some of the ingredients that are either not vegan or questionable.

Let’s take a closer look at them now.

Non-Vegan Ingredients

Milk

Dried cheese, dried whey and some of the flavourings contains milk.

Milk come from cows and is not a vegan-friendly ingredient.

Dried Palm Fat

According to ingredients label the dried palm fat also contains milk in Hula Hoops.This alone makes this ingredient non-vegan, but there is also another aspect to why vegans tends to stay away from palm oil, which is the massive deforestation taking place.

This is forcing orangutans and rhinos away from their natural habitats, which is heartbreaking.

Questionable Ingredients

Sugar

The first questionable ingredient on the list is sugar and more specifically refined cane sugar. The source of the sugar is not disclosed when it comes to Hula Hoops, but I will explain why sugar that is refined cane sugar might not be vegan.

Refined cane sugar is the most used sugar in the snacks and candy industry. The problem with this type of sugar is the fact that the most common bleaching method involves using bone char from dead cows.

Now there are is no evidence that the bone char would somehow contaminated the sugar, but the mere fact that bone char is used can make refined cane sugar non-vegan.

The second sugar that cane be used is beet sugar which is 100% vegan-friendly.

Natural Flavourings

Natural flavors is another tricky flavors when it comes to snacks and candy. It’s an umbrella term. which means that companies can hide ingredients here and call it natural flavors. This means that ingredients from both animals and plants can be found here.

There is an interesting article at National Geographic where they disclose that companies can use butt goo from beavers for vanilla flavors. You can read the article for yourself here.

FAQ’s

Are Hula Hoops Vegetarian?

All flavors of Hula Hoops are vegetarian because they don’t contain any animal derived ingredients except milk, which is accepted in the vegetarian diet. Hula Hoops BBQ Beef, Hula Hoops Cheese & Onion, Hula Hoops Roast Chicken, Hula Hoops Flavarings Tangy Cheese and Hula Hoops Big Hoops BBQ Beef contains milk are not suited for ovo vegetarians.

FlavorVegetarian Status
Hula Hoops OriginalAll Vegetarians.
Hula Hoops Salt & VinegarAll Vegetarians.
Hula Hoops BBQ BeefLacto-Ovo & Lacto.
Hula Hoops Cheese & OnionLacto-Ovo & Lacto.
Hula Hoops Roast ChickenLacto-Ovo & Lacto.
Hula Hoops Smokey BaconAll Vegetarians.
Hula Hoops Flavarings SpicyAll Vegetarians.
Hula Hoops Flavarings Tangy CheeseLacto-Ovo & Lacto.
Hula Hoops Flavarings Salt & VinegarAll Vegetarians.
Hula Hoops Big Hoops Spicy ChiliAll Vegetarians.
Hula Hoops Big Hoops SaltedAll Vegetarians.
Hula Hoops Big Hoops BBQ BeefLacto-Ovo & Lacto.
Hula Hoops Big Hoops Salt & VinegarAll Vegetarians.
Hula Hoops Puft SaltedAll Vegetarians.
Hula Hoops Puft Sweet ChilliAll Vegetarians.
Hula Hoops Puft Salt & VinegarAll Vegetarians.
Hula Hoops Puft BeefAll Vegetarians.

Are Hula Hoops Gluten-Free?

The following flavors of Hula Hoops contains gluten; Hula Hoops Roast Chicken, Hula Hoops Smokey Bacon, Hula Hoops Puft Salted, Hula Hoops Puft Sweet Chilli, Hula Hoops Puft Salt & Vinegar, Hula Hoops Puft Beef. The rest of the flavors are gluten-free, but with the note that they could contain gluten, which probably is because it’s manufactured in the same factory as the other gluten snacks.

Are Beef Hula Hoops Vegan?

Hula Hoops BBQ Beef is not vegan because it contains milk in the form of dried whey.

Conclusion

It’s great that Hula Hoops have a lot of accidentally vegan options.

The reason they can’t label them as vegan is probably due to the possibility of cross contamination.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts