Are Heinz Baked Beans Vegan 2023? All Flavors Reviewed

Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

Heinz Baked Beans have been a favorite pantry staple for generations. The classic tomato-sauce-covered beans in a can offer a delicious and nutritious meal that is easy to prepare. Heinz Baked Beans are known for their great taste. But are Heinz Baked Beans vegan?

Several Heinz Baked Beans are vegan such as the Original, No Added Sugar, Barbeque, Organic, Peri Peri, Chili and Curry. They are vegan because they don’t contain any ingredients sourced from animals.

Below is a table showing Heinz Baked Beans flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
Heinz Baked BeanzVegan.
Heinz Baked Beanz No Added SugarVegan.
Heinz Beanz Protein PotsNo, contains Milk & Egg.
Heinz Baked Beanz BarbequeVegan.
Heinz Baked Beanz OrganicVegan.
Heinz Baked Beanz Peri PeriVegan.
Heinz Baked Beanz ChiliVegan.
Heinz Baked Beanz CurryVegan.
Heinz Baked Beanz Smokey BaconNo, contains Smoked Bacon.
Heinz Baked Beanz With Pork SausagesNo, contains Pork.

Heinz Baked Beans Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.

  • Beans
  • Black Pepper
  • Buttermilk Powder (Milk)
  • Caramel
  • Citric Acid
  • Corinader
  • Cornflour
  • Dextrose
  • Free Range Scrambled Egg
  • Garlic Powder
  • Heinz Baked Beans
  • Herb Extracts
  • Lactic Acid
  • Modified Cornflour
  • Natural Flavors
  • Nutmeg
  • Parsley
  • Pork
  • Pork Fat
  • Pork Sausage
  • Potato Starch
  • Rapeseed Oil
  • Rice Flour
  • Sage
  • Salt
  • Smoked Bacon
  • Spice Extracts
  • Spinach
  • Spirit Vinegar
  • Sugar
  • Tomatoes
  • Water
  • White Beans
  • White Pepper Extract
  • Xanthan Gum


As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Non-Vegan Ingredients

Pork & Smokey Bacon

Meat of any kind from animals are not vegan and this includes pork and bacon.


Since milk comes from cows, it’s not vegan-friendly.

Questionable Ingredients


Sugar is a controversial ingredient in the vegan community and reason for this is the risk of bone char from dead cows being used in the production process. Two of the most common sugar types used are beet sugar and cane sugar, with cane sugar being more popular in candy and snacks.

Before the cane sugar is used it’s often bleached to fit the product better. In this refining process the sugar is also bleached and a common method is to use bone char from dead cows. This does not align with veganism.

Natural Flavors

The next ingredient on our list is natural flavors and this is an ingredient that most companies add to their snacks, because it’s an umbrella term. It means that companies can add whatever ingredient they wish without needing to disclose that ingredients.

This means that natural flavors could contain ingredients derived from animals and vegans would never know this by reading the ingredients label. However milk is often disclosed since many people are allergic to milk.

Lactic Acid

This ingredient could be derived from animals.


It’s amazing that so many flavors of Heinz Baked Benz are vegan-friendly. Some flavors contains pork or bacon, but overall most of them are suitable for the vegan diet because they main ingredients are beans, water and tomato sauce.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts