Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)
Many think that potato chips are always vegan, but is sadly not the truth. Many brand uses milk or other animal-derived ingredients in their chips flavors making it sometimes for vegans to find chips that suits them. Today i’m answering the question, are Hawaiian Snacks potato chips vegan?
Hawaiian Original Crispy & Crunchy Kettle Style Potato Chips is vegan because it does not contain any ingredients derived from animals.
Below is a table showing Hawaiian Snacks potato chips flavors and its vegan status.
|Hawaiian Original Crispy & Crunchy Kettle Style Potato Chips||Vegan.|
|Hawaiian Crispy & Crunchy Luau BBQ Kettle Style Potato Chips||Maybe, contains Natural Flavor.|
|Hawaiian Tart & Tangy Island Lemon Flavored Potato Chips||Maybe, contains Natural Flavor.|
|Hawaiian Hulapeno Jalapeno Fried! Crispy & Crunchy Kettle Style Potato Chips||Maybe, contains Natural Flavor.|
|Hawaiian Crispy & Crunchy Sweet Maui Onion Kettle Style Potato Chips||No, contains Milk.|
If interested in more chips flavors then check out our vegan chips list with over 130 flavors.
Hawaiian Snacks Potato Chips Ingredients
Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.
- Cheese Cultures
- Citric Acid
- Corn Gluten And Wheat Gluten Proteins
- Corn Oil
- Disodium Inosinate & Disodium Guanylate
- Extractive Of Paprika
- Garlic Powder
- Hydrolyzed Soy
- Malic Acid
- Natural Flavor
- Onion And Garlic Powder
- Romano Cheese
- Sunflower Oil
- Torula Yeast
- Wheat Flour
- Whey Powder
- Yeast Extract
As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.
Some ingredients made by milk can be found in one flavor such as whey powder and cheese.
Cow’s milk is not vegan, making these two ingredient non-vegan.
Two sugar types that are used in snacks are beet sugar and cane sugar. With the latter being the most popular one. But there is a problem for vegans when it comes to cane sugar. It needs to be refined and in this process the sugar is bleached.
A popular way to bleach the sugar is to use bone char from dead cows. This does not align with veganism and would make the cane sugar considered non-vegan.
Beet sugar is always vegan and so is raw cane sugar.
This ingredient can be a problem for vegans because it can contain ingredients derived from both animals and plants. The company can just call it natural flavors without needing to disclose which ingredient it actually consists of.
Milk is very often disclosed with is a good thing.
Most of the time natural flavors is vegan-friendly.
Disodium Inosinate & Disodium Guanylate
These ingredients can be made from both plants and animals. The latter being the most common source, which means that vegans needs to be careful with these ingredients.
Enzymes can be made from both animal- and plant-sourced ingredients.
Are Hawaiian Snacks Potato Chips Vegetarian?
All flavors of Hawaiian potato chips are suitable for vegetarians, with the exception of Crispy & Crunchy Sweet Maui Onion which is only suitable for lacto-ovo and lacto vegetarians.
|Hawaiian Crispy & Crunchy Luau BBQ Kettle Style Potato Chips||All Vegetarians.|
|Hawaiian Original Crispy & Crunchy Kettle Style Potato Chips||All Vegetarians.|
|Hawaiian Tart & Tangy Island Lemon Flavored Potato Chips||All Vegetarians.|
|Hawaiian Hulapeno Jalapeno Fried! Crispy & Crunchy Kettle Style Potato Chips||All Vegetarians.|
|Hawaiian Crispy & Crunchy Sweet Maui Onion Kettle Style Potato Chips||Lacto-Ovo & Lacto.|
Almost all flavors vegan is amazing.
This is not the case with most potato chips brands, because milk is a popular ingredient.
Thanks for reading, take care!