Free 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan


Our 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan is here! Download For Free!



Are Goya Discos Vegan 2022? All Ingredients Analyzed


Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

If you’re looking for an easy and delicious way to make empanadas, look no further than Goya Empanada Dough Discos. These discs are made with all-purpose flour, so they’re perfect for both sweet and savory fillings. But, are Goya Discos vegan?

Goya Discos are vegan because it does not contain any ingredients sourced from animals.

Below is a table showing Goya Discos flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
Goya Empanada Dough DiscosVegan.

Goya Discos Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.

  • Ascorbic Acid
  • Corn Solids
  • Dough Conditioner
  • Enriched Bleached Wheat Flour
  • Folic Acid
  • L-cysteine Hydrochloride
  • Malted Barley Flour
  • Niacin
  • Riboflavin
  • Salt
  • Fermented Wheat Flour
  • Vegetable Shortening (Interesterified Soy Bean Oil And/or Palm Oil)
  • Iron
  • Thiamine Mononitrate
  • Wheat Flour
  • Water

[Source]

As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Questionable Ingredients

Palm Oil

This is a very controversial ingredient and not only for vegans. The public are now aware of the severe deforestation that is taking place to make room from palm plantations and this also causes a problem for the wild life because their homes are getting destroyed.

There is a way for palm oil to be more vegan-friendly and it’s called RSPO. It’s a non-profit organisation that helps companies produce and buy sustainable palm oil. This has minimal impact on the environment making it a good choice for vegans.

Soy & Corn

Soy and corn are two of the most common GMO crops in USA and the problem with these are the high mount of herbicide needed for them to grow. This herbicide that pollute the surrounding environment and damage it beyond repair.

If you are worried about GMO’s then you should look for the label non GMO Project. Companies get certified to show the customers that no ingredients made from GMO’s are used in their product.

FAQ

Are Goya Discos Vegetarian?

Goya Discos are suited for vegetarians because it does not contain any ingredients that is restricted by the vegetarian diet.

Conclusion

It’s so great that Goya Discos are vegan, because they taste amazing. Frying food might not be the healthiest thing to eat, but in our house we do fry these from time to time and we enjoy them a lot.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts