Free 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan


Our 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan is here! Download For Free!



Are Good And Plenty Vegan 2022? All Flavors Reviewed


Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

Good and Plenty licorice is one of the oldest and most popular candy brands in America. The small, rectangular candies are coated with a hard candy shell and the interior of the candy is filled with a soft, chewy licorice flavor. But, are Good and Plenty vegan?

Good & Plenty licorice candy is not vegan because it contains Confectioner’s Glaze.

Below is a table showing Good And Plenty flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
Good & Plenty Licorice Candy, Fat FreeNo, contains Confectioner’s Glaze.
Good & Plenty Licorice Flavored Halloween CandyNo, contains Confectioner’s Glaze.

Good And Plenty Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.

  • Sugar
  • Corn Syrup
  • Enriched Wheat Flour
  • Niacin
  • Ferrous Sulfate
  • Thiamin Mononitrate
  • Riboflavin
  • Folic Acid
  • Licorice Extract
  • Gum Acacia
  • Cornstarch
  • Salt
  • Natural Flavor And Artificial Flavor
  • Rice Starch
  • Artificial Color [k-carmine; Red 40 Lake]
  • Caramel Color
  • Confectioner’s Glaze
  • Carnauba Wax

[Source]

As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Non-Vegan Ingredients

Confectioner’s Glaze

Confectioner’s Glaze is a non-vegan ingredient that is derived from bugs in Asia.

K-Carmine

This color is made from insects and is not vegan.

Questionable Ingredients

Sugar

Beet sugar and cane sugar is commonly used in candy and snacks. While beet sugar is always 100%, cane sugar is not and it’s not because it contains ingredients derived from animals, but rather that bone char could have been used in the bleaching process. Exploiting animals to produce a product would make the product non-vegan in many vegans eyes.

Natural And Artificial Flavor

Natural flavor is an umbrella meaning that several ingredient can placed within this ingredient without the need to disclose the source. For vegans this becomes a problem because it could contain ingredient sourced from animals or plants. Milk is often disclosed, but that is for allergic reasons.

Corn

This is the most common GMO crop in USA and many vegans tends to look for products that contains the label non GMO project. The reason for this is the fact that a high amount of herbicide is needed to grow GMO crops and this can pollute the surrounding ecosystem, which can cause severe damage.

Vegan Alternative To Good And Plenty Vegan

I could not find a good licorice, but I do recommend our candy list where you can find 100% vegan-friendly candy.

Conclusion

There are many reason why people are switching to a vegan diet, it could be for health reasons, reduce animal-suffering or the environment. Any reason you pick will lead to a better world and you decide how far you want to take your vegan journey. For me I let my kids consume sugar even tho it could be bleached with bone char.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts