Free 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan


Our 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan is here! Download For Free!



Are Good & Gather Potato Chips Vegan 2022? All Flavors Reviewed


Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

Chips being my favorite type of snacks is a great option for vegans. It’s not always simple to see if chips flavors are vegan and that is why I made this article to answer the question, are Good & Gather potato chips vegan?

Almost all flavors of Good & Gather potato chips are vegan except Parmesan Garlic, because that flavor contains milk.

Below is a table showing Good & Gather chips flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
Good & Gather Kettle Cooked Potato Chips Sea SaltVegan.
Good & Gather Kettle Cooked Potato Chips Krinkle CutVegan.
Good & Gather Kettle Cooked Potato Chips 50% Less FatVegan.
Good & Gather Kettle Cooked Potato Chips Mesquite BarbecueVegan.
Good & Gather Kettle Cooked Potato Chips Sea Salt & VinegarVegan.
Good & Gather Kettle Cooked Potato Chips Parmesan GarlicNo, contains Milk.

If you want more vegan chips option then check our our top list.

Good & Gather Potato Chips Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.

  • Barley Malt Flour
  • Butter
  • Canola Oil
  • Cheese Culture
  • Citric Acid
  • Corn Oil
  • Corn Starch
  • Dextrose
  • Enzyme
  • Garlic Powder
  • Gum Arabic
  • Hickory & Mesquite Smoke Flavoring
  • Lactic Acid
  • Maltodextrin
  • Natural Flavors
  • Nonfat Dry Milk
  • Onion And Garlic Powder
  • Paprika (Color)
  • Paprika Oleoresin (Color)
  • Parsley
  • Parmesan Cheese
  • Potatoes
  • Salt
  • Sea Salt
  • Spices
  • Sugar
  • Sunflower Oil
  • Sweet Potatoes
  • Tomato Powder
  • Torula Yeast
  • Whey
  • Yeast Extract

[Source]

As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Non-Vegan Ingredients

Milk

The flavor Parmesan Garlic contains several ingredient made from milk such as butter, cheese culture, nonfat dry milk, Parmesan cheese and whey.

Since they are made with cow’s milk they are not vegan-friendly.

Questionable Ingredients

Sugar

Beet sugar and cane sugar can be found in snacks and candy. The latter being more popular. The problem with cane sugar is that it is mostly refined to fit the product better. In this process the sugar is bleached and the very common way is to use bone char from dead cows.

This exploitation of animals is not okay by vegan and will make the sugar non-vegan.

A lot of vegans tends to stay away from cane sugar just to be sure.

Natural Flavors

So when it comes to natural flavors it’s important to know that this is an umbrella term, meaning that natural flavors can contain several ingredients and they can be derived from both plants and animals.

Vegans needs to be careful with this ingredient because it’s rarely disclosed on the ingredients label if it contain animal sourced ingredients. All tho if it contains milk, it will often be disclosed.

There is an interesting article on National Geographic where they discovered that butt go from beavers can be used in vanilla flavors.

Most of time natural flavors will be vegan.

Corn

Corn is one of the most common GMO crops in USA. It needs a lot of herbicide, which can lead to severe damage to the surrounding ecosystem.

Enzyme

This ingredient can be made from both animals and plants.

FAQ

Are Product Vegetarian?

Most of the flavors of Good & Gather potato chips are suited for all vegetarian, with the exception of Parmesan Garlic which is suited for lacto-ovo and lacto vegetarians.

FlavorVegetarian Status
Good & Gather Kettle Cooked Potato Chips Sea SaltAll Vegetarians.
Good & Gather Kettle Cooked Potato Chips Krinkle CutAll Vegetarians.
Good & Gather Kettle Cooked Potato Chips 50% Less FatAll Vegetarians.
Good & Gather Kettle Cooked Potato Chips Mesquite BarbecueAll Vegetarians.
Good & Gather Kettle Cooked Potato Chips Sea Salt & VinegarAll Vegetarians.
Good & Gather Kettle Cooked Potato Chips Parmesan GarlicLacto-Ovo & Lacto.

Conclusion

Five out of six flavors being vegan is amazing. This is not always the case because of milk being a popular ingredient in many potato chips flavors.

I hope you learned something this article to help you on your vegan journey.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts