Are Gobstoppers Vegan 2023? All Flavors Reviewed

Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

Gobstoppers, also known as jawbreakers, are a classic childhood treat. For generations, these hard, multicolored sweets have been delighting children with their colorful designs and long-lasting flavor. These sugary treats have become so popular that they are now sold in candy stores across the world. But, are Gobstoppers vegan?

Gobstoppers are not vegan because they contain egg albumen.

Below is a table showing Gobstoppers flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
Chewy Gobstopper Theater BoxNo, contains Egg.
Everlasting Gobstopper Theater BoxNo, contains Egg.

Gobstoppers Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.

  • Maltodextrin
  • Blue 1
  • Blue 2 Lake
  • Calcium Stearate
  • Carnauba Wax
  • Corn Syrup
  • Dextrose
  • Egg Albumen
  • Hydrogenated Coconut Oil
  • Lake 6
  • Malic Acid
  • Mineral Oil
  • Mono- And Diglycerides
  • Natural Flavors
  • Red 40 Lake
  • Sunflower Lecithin
  • Yellow 5
  • Yellow 5 Lake
  • Yellow 6 Lake


As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Non-Vegan Ingredients

Egg Albumen

Since eggs comes from animals, it’s not a vegan-friendly ingredient.

Questionable Ingredients

Artificial Colors

The next controversial ingredient is artificial colors. This is an ingredient that has the vegan community divided. It’s know for being tested on animals and ethical vegans tend to stay away for this reason.

There are other testing methods that can be used instead such as computer simulations. There are also health issues connected to some of the colors such as hyperactivity in younger people

Natural Flavors

Natural flavors is a tricky ingredient to identify as vegan-friendly or not. It’s an umbrella term, meaning that it consists of several ingredients. The problem with this is the source of these ingredients are not disclosed on the ingredients label.

This means that natural flavors could contain ingredients sourced from animals and it’s impossible to know unless you contact the company and ask.


Corn is one of the most common GMO crops in USA and for vegans this can be a problem. GMO crops require a high amount of herbicide in order for it to grow. The herbicide can pollute the surrounding environment and damage the ecosystem severely.

Mono- And Diglycerides

This ingredient can be made from both plants and animals.


Sadly for vegans, Gobstoppers are not vegan-friendly anymore because they contain egg. Always check the ingredients label because companies can update their recipes.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts