Free 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan


Our 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan is here! Download For Free!



Are Dirty Kettle Style Potato Chips Vegan 2022? All Flavors Reviewed


Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

Dirty potato chips are made by Utz brand inc and comes with a wide range of flavors to suite most peoples taste buds. However do they fit different lifestyles? More specifically are Dirty Kettle Style potato chips vegan?

There are several vegan flavors of Dirty Kettle Style potato chips such as Funky Fusion, Sea Salted, Sweet Potato and Cracked Pepper & Sea Salt. Some of the flavors either contain milk, honey or natural flavors.

Below is a table showing Dirty Kettle Style potato chips flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
Dirty Kettle Style Potato Chips Funky FusionVegan.
Dirty Kettle Style Potato Chips Sea SaltedVegan.
Dirty Kettle Style Potato Chips MesquiteMaybe, contains natural flavors.
Dirty Kettle Style Potato Chips Sour Cream & OnionNo, contains Milk.
Dirty Kettle Style Potato Chips Sriracha & HoneyNo, contains Honey.
Dirty Kettle Style Potato Chips Maui OnionNo, contains Milk.
Dirty Kettle Style Potato Chips Jalapeno HeatMaybe, contains natural flavors.
Dirty Kettle Style Potato Chips Sweet PotatoVegan.
Dirty Kettle Style Potato Chips Salt & VinegarNo, contains Milk.
Dirty Kettle Style Potato Chips Cracked Pepper & Sea SaltVegan.

If you want more vegan chips choices make sure to check our new list of best vegan chips.

Dirty Kettle Style Potato Chips Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the Dirty Kettle Style potato chips flavors that I could find.

  • Autolyzed Yeast Extract
  • Black Pepper
  • Citric Acid
  • Corn
  • Corn Oil
  • Corn Flour
  • Corn Starch
  • Cultured Nonfat Milk
  • Cultured Whey
  • Dehydrated Garlic
  • Dehydrated Onion
  • Dehydrated Parsley
  • Dextrose
  • Distilled Vinegar
  • Evaporated Cane Juice
  • Extractive of Paprika and Spice Extractive
  • Garlic Powder
  • Jalapeno Pepper Powder
  • Lactic Acid
  • Lactose
  • Malic Acid
  • Maltodextrin
  • Natural Flavors
  • Natural Milled Sugar Cane
  • Natural Smoke Flavor
  • Natural Smoke Powder
  • Nonfat Milk
  • Onion Powder
  • Paprika & Turmeric Extract (Color)
  • Peanut Oil
  • Potato Starch
  • Potatoes
  • Sweet Potatoes
  • Safflower
  • Sunflower Oil
  • Salt
  • Sea Salt
  • Sodium Citrate
  • Sour Cream
  • Spices
  • Sugar
  • Tomato Powder
  • Vinegar
  • Whey Protein
  • Yeast Extract

[Source]

As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Non-Vegan Ingredients

Milk

Milk and whey protein can be found in some of the flavors, making those specific flavors non-vegan.

Honey

This ingredient can be found in one flavor and is also not vegan-friendly.

The bees work hard for their honey and it’s replaced with sugar.

Questionable Ingredients

Sugar

This ingredient has become a very discussed topic within the vegan community and with good reason. Sugar in itself is always vegan since it does not contain any animal-derived ingredients, however sugar can still be classified as non-vegan if produced in a certain way.

Beet sugar is always vegan, but cane sugar might not always be. The most popular of the two is cane sugar and it’s often refined to fit the product better. In the refining process the sugar is bleached and a common practice is to use bone char from dead cows.

So if the cane sugar is bleached this way, then it would be classified as non-vegan because of exploitation of animals.

Natural Flavors

Natural flavors can be found in many snacks and chips, which can cause problems for vegans. The ingredients in natural flavors does not have to be disclosed, which means that animal-derived ingredients can added.

Most of the times this ingredient is vegan-friendly, but we cannot be 100% sure. The best way is to contact the company and ask.

Corn

A quick mention is corn and this is due to the fact that it’s a very common GMO in USA. Why would this be a problem for vegans? Well the reason is the high amount of herbicide used in order to gain good yields.

The herbicide can damage the surrounding ecosystem.

FAQ

Are Dirty Kettle Style Potato Chips Vegetarian?

Most flavors of Dirty Kettle Style potato chips are suited for all vegetarians, while the flavors Sour Cream & Onion, Maui Onion and Salt & Vinegar are suited for lacto-ovo and lacto vegetarians.

FlavorVegetarian Status
Dirty Kettle Style Potato Chips Funky FusionAll Vegetarians.
Dirty Kettle Style Potato Chips Sea SaltedAll Vegetarians.
Dirty Kettle Style Potato Chips MesquiteAll Vegetarians.
Dirty Kettle Style Potato Chips Sour Cream & OnionLacto-Ovo & Lacto.
Dirty Kettle Style Potato Chips Sriracha & HoneyAll Vegetarians.
Dirty Kettle Style Potato Chips Maui OnionLacto-Ovo & Lacto.
Dirty Kettle Style Potato Chips Jalapeno HeatAll Vegetarians.
Dirty Kettle Style Potato Chips Sweet PotatoAll Vegetarians.
Dirty Kettle Style Potato Chips Salt & VinegarLacto-Ovo & Lacto.
Dirty Kettle Style Potato Chips Cracked Pepper & Sea SaltAll Vegetarians.

Conclusion

What a great surprise that so many flavors of Dirty Kettle Style potato chips are vegan. This is not always the case with many potato chips brands. Ingredients such as milk is very popular and can make many flavors non-vegan if unlucky.

I hope this article was informative.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts