Free 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan


Our 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan is here! Download For Free!



Are Deep River Potato Chips Vegan 2022? All Flavors Reviewed


Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

Today we are taking a look at Deep River potato chips. With a wide variety of flavors, these chips are sure to fit most peoples taste buds. Analyzing ingredients might be tricky for time to time and this is why I made this article to help answer the question, are Deep River potato chips vegan?

Some flavors of Deep River potato chips are vegan such Deep River Kettle Cooked Potato Chips Original Sea Salt, Black Truffle, Mesquite BBQ and Rosemary & Olive Oil just to name a few. They are vegan because they don’t contain any ingredients derived from animals.

Below is a table showing Deep River potato chips flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
Deep River Kettle Cooked Potato Chips 50% Reduced Fat Vegan.
Deep River Kettle Cooked Potato Chips Argentinian ChimichurriMaybe, contains Natural Flavor.
Deep River Kettle Cooked Potato Chips Black TruffleVegan.
Deep River Kettle Cooked Potato Chips Mesquite BBQVegan.
Deep River Kettle Cooked Potato Chips New York Spicy Dill PickleMaybe, contains Natural Flavor.
Deep River Kettle Cooked Potato Chips Original Sea SaltVegan.
Deep River Kettle Cooked Potato Chips Rosemary & Olive OilVegan.
Deep River Kettle Cooked Potato Chips Salt & Cracked PepperVegan.
Deep River Kettle Cooked Potato Chips Sea Salt & VinegarVegan.
Deep River Kettle Cooked Potato Chips Sweet Maui OnionMaybe, contains Natural Flavor.
Deep River Kettle Cooked Potato Chips Zesty JalapenoVegan.
Deep River Kettle Cooked Potato Chips Aged Cheddar HorseradishNo, contains Milk.
Deep River Kettle Cooked Potato Chips Sour Cream and OnionNo, contains Milk.

Still want more vegan chips to choose from? Then make sure to check our Best Vegan Chips List.

Deep River Potato Chips Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.

  • Apple Cider Vinegar
  • Calcium Lactate
  • Cane Sugar
  • Cheddar Cheese
  • Citric Acid
  • Dehydrated Tomato
  • Disodium Phosphate
  • Dried Truffles
  • Enzymes
  • Garlic Powder
  • Jalapeno Chili Pepper
  • Lactic Acid
  • Malic Acid
  • Maltodextrin
  • Natural Extractives Of Rosemary
  • Natural Extratives Of Paprika
  • Natural Flavors
  • Natural Truffle Flavor
  • Non-GMO Potatoes
  • Non-GMO Sunflower Oil
  • Olive Oil
  • Onion Powder
  • Organic White Destilled Vinegar
  • Potatoes
  • Salt
  • Sea Salt
  • Spices
  • Sunflower Oil
  • Sweet Maui Onion
  • Torula Yeast
  • Whey
  • White Onion
  • Yeast Extract
  • Salt

[Source]

As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Non-Vegan Ingredients

Milk

Several ingredient made with milk can be found in two of the flavors such as whey and cheddar cheese. These ingredients are not vegan because it’s made from cow’s milk.

Questionable Ingredients

Cane Sugar

This ingredient is one of the most discussed in the vegan community. Sugar can be found in so many flavors of candy and snacks, with the most common one used is actually cane sugar. Cane sugar is brown in it’s raw form and in order to fit the products it needs to be refined.

In this process the sugar is also bleached and this is where the problem lies. A common method of bleaching cane sugar is to use bone char from dead cows. Exploiting animals as you know is a big no for vegans.

So if the cane sugar would be bleached with bone char then the sugar would be considered non-vegan. It’s very difficult knowing if this was the case just by looking at the ingredients. The best way to be 100% sure is to contact the company and ask.

Natural Flavors

Another popular ingredients in snacks is natural flavors. This is an umbrella term, which means that many ingredients can be put in here and the company only need to call it natural flavors. So both ingredients from animals and plants can be found here and it’s very difficult to know the source when reading the ingredients label.

More often than not, companies are discloses if the natural flavors they use contains milk, but not if the other ingredients are animal-sourced.

Natural flavors are vegan-friendly most of the time.

FAQ

Are Deep River Potato Chips Vegetarian?

Most flavors of Deep River potato chips are suited for all vegetarians, with the exception of Aged Cheddar Horseradish and Cream and Onion which are suited for lacto-ovo and lacto-vegetarians.

FlavorVegetarian Status
Deep River Kettle Cooked Potato Chips 50% Reduced Fat All Vegetarians.
Deep River Kettle Cooked Potato Chips Argentinian ChimichurriAll Vegetarians.
Deep River Kettle Cooked Potato Chips Black TruffleAll Vegetarians.
Deep River Kettle Cooked Potato Chips Mesquite BBQAll Vegetarians.
Deep River Kettle Cooked Potato Chips New York Spicy Dill PickleAll Vegetarians.
Deep River Kettle Cooked Potato Chips Original Sea SaltAll Vegetarians.
Deep River Kettle Cooked Potato Chips Rosemary & Olive OilAll Vegetarians.
Deep River Kettle Cooked Potato Chips Salt & Cracked PepperAll Vegetarians.
Deep River Kettle Cooked Potato Chips Sea Salt & VinegarAll Vegetarians.
Deep River Kettle Cooked Potato Chips Sweet Maui OnionAll Vegetarians.
Deep River Kettle Cooked Potato Chips Zesty JalapenoAll Vegetarians.
Deep River Kettle Cooked Potato Chips Aged Cheddar HorseradishLacto-Ovo & Lacto.
Deep River Kettle Cooked Potato Chips Sour Cream and OnionLacto-Ovo & Lacto.

Conclusion

Many vegan flavors of Deep River potato chips, that is amazing.

You might think that it’s so obvious that potato chips would be vegan all the time, but that is really not the case. A lot of brands like to use cow’s milk but also ingredients such as enzymes and mono-& diglycerides, which both can be made from both animals and plants.

I hope you found this article informative.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts