Free 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan


Our 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan is here! Download For Free!



Are Club Crackers Vegan 2022? All Flavors Reviewed


Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

Kellogg’s have been producing club cracker for some time now and whether you are having a dinner party, movie night or just chilling with some friends, they are the perfect snack. However are club crackers vegan?

Several flavors of Kellogg’s Club crackers are vegan such as original, snack stacks, multi-grain and reduced fat because they don’t contain any ingredients sourced from animals.

Below is a table showing Club Crackers flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
Kellogg’s Club Original CrackersVegan.
Kellogg’s Club Snack StacksVegan.
Kellogg’s Club Minis Original CrackersVegan.
Kellogg’s Club Crisps Sea SaltNo, contains Milk.
Kellogg’s Club Crisps RanchNo, contains Milk.
Kellogg’s Club Multi-Grain CrackersVegan.
Kellogg’s Club Reduced Fat CrackersVegan.
Kellogg’s Club Minis Multi-Grain CrackersVegan.

Club Crackers Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.

  • Enriched Flour
  • Baking Soda
  • Butter
  • Buttermilk
  • Canola Oil (With TBHQ For Freshness)
  • Corn Syrup
  • Defatted Wheat Germ
  • Degerminated Yellow Corn Flour
  • Dextrose
  • Dried Potatoes
  • Folic Acid
  • Garlic Powder
  • High Fructose Corn Syrup
  • Modified Corn Starch
  • Monocalcium Phosphate
  • Natural Flavor
  • Niacin
  • Nonfat Milk
  • Oat Bran
  • Oat Fiber
  • Onion Powder
  • Reduced Iron
  • Salt
  • Sea Salt
  • Sodium Acid Pyrophosphate
  • Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate
  • Soy Lecithin
  • Soybean Oil
  • Spices
  • Sugar
  • Vitamin B1 [Thiamin Mononitrate]
  • Vitamin B2 [Riboflavin]
  • Whey
  • White Vinegar Powder
  • Whole Wheat

[Source]

As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Non-Vegan Ingredients

Milk

There are several ingredients made from milk in the crisps flavors such as whey, nonfat milk, butter and buttermilk. The milk comes from cows and is not vegan.

Questionable Ingredients

Sugar

This is one of the controversial ingredients and with good reason. In the snacks and candy industry, the two most common sugar types are refined cane sugar and beet sugar. Beet sugar is 100% vegan and so is raw cane sugar. However when the cane sugar is refined, that where the problem lies for many vegans.

A common practice when refining cane sugar is to also bleach the sugar in order for it to fit the product better and a popular choice is to use bone char from dead cows. Exploiting animals in the production process does not align with veganism and whether you choose to consume sugar with an unknown source is up to you.

The big win with veganism is to avoid sugar, but rather avoid eating meat and a lot of product containing animal-derived ingredients.

Natural Flavor

Natural flavor is the second questionable ingredient and the problem here is that companies can add whatever ingredients they want and only have to call it natural flavors. Companies often discloses if it contains milk, but not animal-derived ingredients.

So unless disclosed, it’s impossible to know the source and if it’s vegan.

Corn & Soy

These two ingredient are the most common GMO crops in USA and there can be some issues connected to this. In order to get good yields, a lot of herbicide is needed and this can damage the surrounding ecosystem.

Where is something called non GMO project that a lot of vegans tends look for in products.

Vegan Alternative To Club Crackers

There a few vegan alternatives to club crackers.

  • Back to Nature Crackers
  • Annie’s Organic Saltine Classics

You can read more about them here.

FAQ

Are Club Crackers Vegetarian?

Club crackers maybe vegetarians, but all flavors contains riboflavin and niacin, which could be made from both animal and plant-based ingredients.

FlavorVegetarian Status
Kellogg’s Club Original CrackersVegetarian.
Kellogg’s Club Snack StacksVegetarian.
Kellogg’s Club Minis Original CrackersVegetarian.
Kellogg’s Club Crisps Sea SaltVegetarian.
Kellogg’s Club Crisps RanchVegetarian.
Kellogg’s Club Multi-Grain CrackersVegetarian.
Kellogg’s Club Reduced Fat CrackersVegetarian.
Kellogg’s Club Minis Multi-Grain CrackersVegetarian.

Conclusion

It’s great that so many of Kellogg’s club crackers are vegan.

There are also some great alternatives, which might satisfy your taste buds.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts