Free 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan


Our 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan is here! Download For Free!



Are Cape Cod Chips Vegan 2022? List Of Vegan Flavors


Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

Cape Cod potato chips are was founded in 1980 and is owned by a company called Campbell Soup. These tasty potato chips comes with a wide range of flavors to suit most peoples taste buds. Even tho they have a lot of flavors, are Cape Cod chips vegan?

Cape Cod potato chips have a lot of vegan flavors such as Cape Cod Original, Cape Cod Dark Russet and Cape Cod Sea Salt & Vinegar just to name a few. The reason for this is because they don’t use any ingredients derived from animals in most of their flavors.

Below is a table showing all Cape Cod Chips flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan StatusLink
Cape Cod OriginalVegan.View On Amazon
Cape Cod Dark RussetVegan.View On Amazon
Cape Cod Original Lightly SaltedVegan.View On Amazon
Cape Cod Sea Salt & Cracked PepperNo, contains Milk.
Cape Cod Sea Salt & VinegarVegan.View On Amazon
Cape Cod Sour Cream & OnionNo, contains Milk.
Cape Cod Sweet & Spicy JalapeñoMaybe, contains Natural Flavors.
Cape Cod Sweet Mesquite BarbequeMaybe, contains Natural Flavors.
Cape Cod Less Fat OriginalVegan.View On Amazon
Cape Cod Less Fat Sea Salt & VinegarVegan.
Cape Cod Less Fat Sweet Mesquite BarbequeMaybe, contains Natural Flavors.
Cape Cod Less Fat Aged White Cheddar & Sour CreamNo, contains Milk.
Cape Cod Waves Sea SaltVegan.View On Amazon
Cape Cod Waves Honey BBQNo, contains Honey.
Cape Cod Waves Jalapeño RanchNo, contains Milk.
Cape Cod Waves Less Fat Sea SaltVegan.
Cape Cod Waves White Cheddar & Sour CreamNo, contains Milk.
Cape Cod Sea Salt Waffle CutVegan.

For more options be sure to check out our top list of vegan potato chips flavors.

Cape Cod potato chips Ingredients

Below are all ingredients that can be found through out the chips flavors of Cape Cod.

  • Acetic Acid
  • Apple Cider Vinegar Powder
  • Buttermilk
  • Canola Oil
  • Cheddar Cheese
  • Citric Acid
  • Corn Syrup solids
  • Cornstarch
  • Cracked Black Pepper
  • Cultured Nonfat Milk
  • Dairy Whey
  • Dextrose
  • Disodium Phosphate
  • Dried Garlic
  • Dried Onion
  • Dry Vinegar
  • Enzymes
  • Enzyme Modified Cheddar Cheese
  • Garlic Powder
  • Green Onion
  • Honey
  • Lactic Acid
  • Malic Acid
  • Maltodextrin
  • Milk Fat
  • Modified Food Starch
  • Molasses
  • Monterey Jack
  • Natural Flavors
  • Nonfat Dry Milk
  • Nonfat Milk
  • Onion Powder
  • Paprika
  • Parsley
  • Potatoes
  • Safflower Oil
  • Sunflower Oil
  • Salt
  • Sea Salt
  • Sour Cream
  • Spices
  • Sugar
  • Swiss Cheese
  • Tomato Powder
  • Torula Yeast
  • Vinegar
  • Whey
  • White Pepper
  • Yeast Extract

[source]

I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Non-Vegan Ingredients

Milk

Ingredient such as cheese, whey and milk fat can be found in some of the Cap Cod potato chips.

It’s made from cows milk and is not vegan.

Honey

Exploiting insects does not align with veganism.

We are taking the honey from the bees and giving them sugar instead.

Honey is not vegan-friendly.

Questionable Ingredients

Natural Flavors

Natural flavors is an umbrella term, which means that it can contain many ingredients that is sourced from both plants and animals. There is no way of knowing the source unless it’s disclosed by the company.

There is an interesting article on National Geographic about the use of butt goo from beavers in vanilla flavoring. This just shows that anything can be found in some ingredients.

The only way to be sure about the source is to contact the company and ask.

Sugar

Sugar is one of the most discussed topic within the vegan community. The reason for this is that there is a chance that sugar might not be vegan-friendly. Two common sources of sugar is beet and cane.

Cane sugar being the most popular choose for most companies. The cane sugar is refined in order to fit the product better and in this process the sugar is also bleached. This is where the problem lies. The most common bleaching process involves using bone char from dead cows.

This is exploiting dead animals and a lot of vegans say that this does can make the sugar non-vegan.

Enzymes

Enzymes that be sourced from both animals and plants.

Most vegans tends to stay away from this ingredient.

Corn

Corn is the most common GMO crop in USA. The corn itself is of course vegan, but the problem is the high amount of herbicide used to gain good yields. The herbicide can severely damage the surrounding ecosystem, which is an concern to many vegans.

FAQ’s

Are Product Vegetarian?

All flavors of Cape Cod chips are vegetarian. Some flavors such as Cape Cod Sea Salt & Cracked Pepper, Cape Cod Sour Cream & Onion, Cape Cod Less Fat Aged White Cheddar & Sour Cream, Cape Cod Waves Jalapeño Ranch and Cape Cod Waves White Cheddar & Sour Cream are suited for lacto-ovo and lacto.

FlavorVegetarian Status
Cape Cod OriginalAll Vegetarians.
Cape Cod Dark RussetAll Vegetarians.
Cape Cod Original Lightly SaltedAll Vegetarians.
Cape Cod Sea Salt & Cracked PepperLacto-Ovo & Lacto.
Cape Cod Sea Salt & VinegarAll Vegetarians.
Cape Cod Sour Cream & OnionLacto-Ovo & Lacto.
Cape Cod Sweet & Spicy JalapeñoAll Vegetarians.
Cape Cod Sweet Mesquite BarbequeAll Vegetarians.
Cape Cod Less Fat OriginalAll Vegetarians.
Cape Cod Less Fat Sea Salt & VinegarAll Vegetarians.
Cape Cod Less Fat Sweet Mesquite BarbequeAll Vegetarians.
Cape Cod Less Fat Aged White Cheddar & Sour CreamLacto-Ovo & Lacto.
Cape Cod Waves Sea SaltAll Vegetarians.
Cape Cod Waves Honey BBQAll Vegetarians.
Cape Cod Waves Jalapeño RanchLacto-Ovo & Lacto.
Cape Cod Waves Less Fat Sea SaltAll Vegetarians.
Cape Cod Waves White Cheddar & Sour CreamLacto-Ovo & Lacto.
Cape Cod Sea Salt Waffle CutAll Vegetarians.

Conclusion

It’s great that Cape Cod has so many vegan and vegetarian flavors. Hopefully you will find your favorite flavor in the tables.

Trying to figure out if a product is vegan or not can be tricky and that is why I made this article to help you find your vegan flavors of Cape Cod chips.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts