Free 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan


Our 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan is here! Download For Free!



Are Boulder Canyon Chips Vegan 2022? All Flavors Reviewed


Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

Today’s chips brand is Boulder Canyon. These tasty potato chips are produced by UTZ and come with a wide range of flavors. But, are Boulder Canyon chips vegan?

All flavors of Boulder Canyon chips are vegan except Cheddar Sour Cream, Jalapeno Cheddar and Sharp White Cheddar. The reason these three flavors are not vegan is because they contain milk.

Below is a table showing Boulder Canyon chips flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
Boulder Canyon Potato Chips Thin & Crispy Avocado Oil Classic Sea SaltVegan.
Boulder Canyon Potato Chips Thin & Crispy Avocado Oil Cheddar Sour CreamNo, contains Milk.
Boulder Canyon Kettle Potato Chips Avocado Oil Malt Vinegar & Sea SaltVegan.
Boulder Canyon Kettle Potato Chips Avocado Oil Sea SaltVegan.
Boulder Canyon Kettle Potato Chips Olive Oil Sea SaltVegan.
Boulder Canyon Kettle Potato Chips 60% Less SodiumVegan.
Boulder Canyon Kettle Potato Chips Malt Vinegar & Sea SaltVegan.
Boulder Canyon Kettle Potato Chips Olive Oil Sea Salt & Cracked PepperVegan.
Boulder Canyon Kettle Potato Chips Hickory BBQVegan.
Boulder Canyon Kettle Potato Chips Jalapeno Cheddar No, contains Milk.
Boulder Canyon Kettle Potato Chips Sharp White CheddarNo, contains Milk.

If you want more potato chips to choose from then check out our Best Vegan Chips Flavors List where we found over 130 vegan chips flavors.

Boulder Canyon Chips Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the Boulder Canyon chips flavors that I could find.

  • Avocado Oil
  • Cane Sugar
  • Canola Oil
  • Cheddar Cheese
  • Cheese Culture
  • Citric Acid
  • Dextrose
  • Distilled White Vinegar
  • Dried Garlic
  • Dried Onion
  • Enzymes
  • Fructose
  • Garlic Powder
  • Lactic Acid Powder
  • Malt Extract
  • Malt Vinegar
  • Maltodextrin
  • Milk
  • Modified Corn Starch
  • Molasses Powder
  • Natural Flavors
  • Natural Smoke Flavor
  • Nonfat Milk
  • Olive Oil
  • Onion Powder
  • Paprika
  • Paprika Extract (Color)
  • Potatoes
  • Rice Flour
  • Safflower Oil
  • Salt
  • Sea Salt
  • Sodium Phosphate
  • Sour Cream
  • Spice Extract
  • Spices
  • Sunflower Oil
  • Tomato Powder
  • Vitamin E
  • Whey
  • White Vinegar Powder
  • Yeast Extract

[Source]

As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Non-Vegan Ingredients

Milk

Several ingredients derived from milk can be found in some of the Boulder Canyon chips flavors such as whey, sour cream, cheese.

Cows milk is not a vegan ingredient.

Questionable Ingredients

Cane Sugar

This type of sugar is one of the most commonly used in the candy and snack industry. There is a problem that follows cane sugar that trouble vegans, more specifically refined cane sugar. In the refining process the cane sugar is bleached to fit the product better.

The most common bleaching process is to use bone char from dead cows. This raises an issue for vegan because it’s exploiting animals even tho it’s from dead animals. This makes cane sugar bleached this this method non-vegan.

Enzymes

Enzymes can be made from both animals and plants. It’s no way of knowing the source unless it’s disclosed by the company.

Natural Flavors

This ingredient can be a bit tricky because it’s basically an umbrella term, which means that companies can hide ingredient here without needing to disclose them. It can be both ingredients derived from plants and animals.

There an article at National Geographic where they disclosed the use of butt go from beavers in vanilla flavors. Imagine what kind of ingredient that cane be found in products if butt go from beavers is okay to use. Anyway this is an rare occasion and most of the times Natural Flavors are vegan in chips flavors.

FAQ

Are Boulder Canyon Chips Vegetarian?

All flavors of Boulder Canyon chips are vegetarian, because some of the flavors only contain milk and no other derived ingredients from animals.

FlavorVegetarian Status
Boulder Canyon Potato Chips Thin & Crispy Avocado Oil Classic Sea SaltAll Vegetarians.
Boulder Canyon Potato Chips Thin & Crispy Avocado Oil Cheddar Sour CreamLacto-Ovo & Lacto.
Boulder Canyon Kettle Potato Chips Avocado Oil Malt Vinegar & Sea SaltAll Vegetarians.
Boulder Canyon Kettle Potato Chips Avocado Oil Sea SaltAll Vegetarians.
Boulder Canyon Kettle Potato Chips Olive Oil Sea SaltAll Vegetarians.
Boulder Canyon Kettle Potato Chips 60% Less SodiumAll Vegetarians.
Boulder Canyon Kettle Potato Chips Malt Vinegar & Sea SaltAll Vegetarians.
Boulder Canyon Kettle Potato Chips Olive Oil Sea Salt & Cracked PepperAll Vegetarians.
Boulder Canyon Kettle Potato Chips Hickory BBQAll Vegetarians.
Boulder Canyon Kettle Potato Chips Jalapeno Cheddar Lacto-Ovo & Lacto.
Boulder Canyon Kettle Potato Chips Sharp White CheddarLacto-Ovo & Lacto.

Conclusion

Knowing if a product is vegan or not can be sometimes be hard to determine and this is why I made this article to help you. A lot of potato chips flavors are vegan, but the usage of milk is popular in some flavors.

As you can see from the table of flavors in this article, a lot of the Boulder Canyon chips flavors are vegan, with only three flavors containing milk.

Thanks for reading, take care.

Recent Posts