Are Bottle Caps Vegan 2023? All Ingredients Analyzed

Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

Bottle Caps is a great to way to enjoy your favorite sodas anywhere you want as long as you have a bottle of water. It comes in the flavors Root Beer, Cola, Cherry, Grape, and Orange. But, are Bottle Caps vegan?

Bottle Caps might be vegan but contains natural flavors and calcium stearate, both which could contain ingredients sourced from animals. The artificial colors makes Bottle Caps not suitable for ethical vegans.

Below is a table showing Bottle Caps flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
Bottle Caps RollMaybe, contains Natural Flavors and Calcium Stearate.
Bottle Caps Theater BoxMaybe, contains Natural Flavors and Calcium Stearate.

Bottle Caps Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.

  • Annato Extract Color
  • Blue 1 Lake
  • Blue 2 Lake
  • Calcium Stearate
  • Caramel Color
  • Dextrose
  • Malic Acid
  • Maltodextrin
  • Natural Flavors
  • Red 40 Lake
  • Vegetable Juice Color
  • Yellow 5 Lake
  • Yellow 6 Lake


As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Questionable Ingredients

Natural Flavors

Natural flavors is an umbrella term, which means that it often consists of several ingredients and the source of these ingredients are not disclosed on the ingredients label. So natural flavors could contain ingredients sourced from animals and it would not show on the ingredients label.

Artificial Colors

Artificial colors is a controversial ingredient within the vegan community because of the fact that animal testing have been tested on animals and maybe still are. With that said the vegan community can be divided into two groups, ethical vegans and dietary vegans.

Ethical vegans tends to stay away from artificial colors while dietary vegans sometimes choose to consume these colors. Also it’s worth to mention that there are several health issues connected to artificial colors such as hyperactivity in younger people.

Calcium Stearate

This ingredient can be made from both plants and animals.


Since Bottle Caps contains two questionable ingredients it’s very hard to determine if this product is vegan-friendly. Remember to read the ingredients label because companies can update their recipes.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts