Are Biscoff Cookies Vegan 2023? All Flavors Reviewed

Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

Biscoff Cookies have been around since 1932 and have since become an iconic favorite of many. With its unique flavor and crunchy texture, this sweet treat has become a popular snack for all ages. But, are Biscoff Cookies vegan?

Lotus Biscoff Original and Lotus Biscoff Sandwich Biscoff Cream are both vegan because they don’t contain ingredients sourced from animals.

Below is a table showing Biscoff Cookies flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
Lotus Biscoff OriginalVegan.
Lotus Biscoff ChocolateNo, contains Milk.
Lotus Biscoff Sandwich Vanilla FlavorMaybe, contains Natural Flavor.
Lotus Biscoff Sandwich Milk Chocolate FlavorNo, contains Milk.
Lotus Biscoff Sandwich Biscoff CreamVegan.

Biscoff Cookies Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.

  • Brown Sugar Syrup
  • Butter Oil
  • Canola Oil
  • Cinnamon
  • Cocoa Butter
  • Cocoa Mass
  • Cocoa Powder Processed With Alkali
  • Natural Flavor
  • Nonfat Dry Milk
  • Palm Oil
  • Polyglycerol Polyricinoleate
  • Salt
  • Skimmed Milk Powder
  • Sodium Bicarbonate (Leavening)
  • Soy Flour
  • Soy Lecithin (Emulsifier)
  • Sugar
  • Sunflower Oil
  • Wheat Flour
  • Whey Powder


As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Non-Vegan Ingredients


Since milk comes from cows, it’s not an ingredient that vegans can eat.

Questionable Ingredients


Sugar is an ingredient that is controversial within the vegan community and it’s a problem for vegans because cane sugar might not always be vegan. Raw cane sugar is always vegan-friendly, but when the cane sugar gets refined it could cause problems for vegans.

In the refining process the sugar is also bleached and the common bleaching method is to use bone char from dead cows. Exploiting dead animals in the production process would make the product non-vegan.

Natural Flavor

Natural flavors is an umbrella term, which means that it can consist of several different ingredients and the source of these ingredients are not disclosed on the ingredients label. Companies can add any ingredients that they want and only say natural flavors.

Many companies do not disclose the ingredient, but they do disclose if it contains milk. This is because people can be allergic to it.

Palm Oil

Palm oil is a controversial ingredient and many people are boycotting it. Some of the reasons for this are the deforestation that takes place to make room for palm oil production and the fact that the wild life is being affected.

There is a way for the palm oil to become more vegan-friendly and it’s called RSPO. It’s a non-profit organisation that helps companies produce and buy sustainable palm oil with minimal impact on the environment.


Soy is one of the most common GMO crops in the US and the problem with GMO’s is the fact that i requires a high amount of herbicide in order to grow properly. This can pollute the surrounding ecosystem and damage it severely.


It’s great that at least two flavors of Biscoff cookies are vegan-friendly. There are some questionable ingredients found in some of the flavors but this is very common for most brands.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts