Are Bark Thins Vegan 2023? All Flavors Reviewed

Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

Barkthins are a delicious, unique snack that has taken the world by storm. Since their inception in 2011, Barkthins have become a favorite of health-minded individuals everywhere due to their crunchy texture, delicious flavors, and healthy ingredients. But, are Bark Thins vegan?

Several flavors of Bark Thins are vegan such as Dark Chocolate Pretzel With Sea Salt, Dark Chocolate Almond With Sea Salt, Dark Chocolate Blueberry With Quinoa Crunch and Dark Chocolate Coconut With Almonds.

Remember to always read the ingredients label because some products shows different ingredients on different websites. Milk fat is an ingredient that you want to look out for.

Below is a table showing Bark Thins flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan Status
Barkthins Dark Chocolate Pretzel With Sea SaltVegan.
Barkthins Dark Chocolate Almond With Sea SaltVegan.
Barkthins Dark Chocolate Blueberry With Quinoa CrunchVegan.
Barkthins Dark Chocolate Coconut With AlmondsVegan.
Barkthins, Dark Chocolate Coconut And Almond Snacking ChocolateNo contains Milk.

Bark Thins Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.

  • Agave Syrup
  • Almonds
  • Cane Sugar
  • Cocoa Butter
  • Coconut
  • Dark Chocolate
  • Glazed Quinoa
  • Malt Flour
  • Milk Fat
  • Pretzels
  • Quinoa
  • Rice Syrup
  • Salt
  • Sea Salt
  • Soy Lecithin (An Emulsifier)
  • Soybean Oil
  • Sugar
  • Sunflower Oil
  • Sweetened Blueberries
  • Vanilla


As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Non-Vegan Ingredients


Milk comes from cows and it’s not a vegan-friendly ingredient.

Questionable Ingredients


Sugar can be a tricky ingredient for vegans, because there is an instance where sugar could be classified as non-vegan. The most common sugar types are beet sugar and cane sugar, with the latter being more so used in the candy and snacks industry.

Beet sugar is always vegan and so is raw cane sugar. However the cane sugar is often refined to fit the product and in this process the sugar is also bleached. A common method is to use bone char from dead cows and exploiting animals in the production process would make the product non-vegan.


Soy is one of the most common GMO crops in the US. GMO crops requires a high amount of herbicide which can pollute the surrounding ecosystem and cause severe damage to the environment.


It’s amazing that several flavors of Bark Thins are vegan-friendly according to the ingredients. Like I mentioned earlier, remember to read the ingredients label because some websites says that some flavors contains milk, while others don’t.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts