Free 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan


Our 28 Day Vegan Meal Plan is here! Download For Free!



Are Atomic Fireballs Vegan 2022? All Ingredients Analyzed


Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

Atomic Fireballs are a type of candy that has been around since the 1950s. The candy is made up of a hard candy shell with a spicy cinnamon flavor inside. Atomic Fireballs are popular among people who enjoy spicy food. But, are Atomic Fireballs vegan?

Atomic Fireballs Hard Candy are suited for dietary vegans because it does not contain any ingredients derived from animals.

Below is a table showing Atomic Fireballs flavors and its vegan status.

FlavorVegan StatusLink
Atomic Fireballs Hard CandyDietary vegan, contains Red 40.View On Amazon

Atomic Fireballs Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.

  • Modified Food Starch (Corn)
  • Artificial Flavor
  • Carnauba Wax
  • Acacia (Gum Arabic)
  • Titanium Dioxide (Color)
  • Red 40 Lake
  • Sugar

[Source]

As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Questionable Ingredients

Sugar

Sugar can be found in almost all candy today and this can be a problem for vegans. The most popular sugar used is refined cane sugar and in the refining process of the sugar it’s also bleached. A common method to bleach the cane sugar is to use bone char from dead cows.

Exploiting animals in the production process is not okay for vegans even tho they are already dead. The source of the sugar is rarely disclosed and information about the bleaching process can be hard to come by. If you are concerned then you should contact the company.

Red 40

Artificial colors is a highly controversial ingredient within the vegan community and the reason for that is the animal testing that has been done and probably still is being conducted. To test different foods on animals has been done for many years, but now there are other methods such as computer simulation that can do a great job at testing products.

That being said, it’s widely discussed where to draw the line for vegans when it comes to animal testing. Some vegans think that we should stay away from product that has been tested on animals while other argue that if a product was tested on animals 5-10 years ago, why should vegans not consume it today.

Medicine is a good example here. We all know that it has been heavily tested in the past to make it’s safe for humans to consume. Would we now not use the medicine because of that? The choice is yours.

FAQ

Are Atomic Fireballs Vegetarian?

Atomic Fireballs Hard Candy are suited for all vegetarians because it does not contain any ingredients derived from animals.

FlavorVegetarian Status
Atomic Fireballs Hard CandyAll Vegetarians.

Conclusion

No matter if you are eating a plant-based diet because of health, animal-cruelty or the environment, it will make a difference. So when people say a product is not vegan because of bone char in sugar, that would be somewhat be true, but we all decide how we live our vegan lives.

My family eat sugar even tho there might be a tiny chance the sugar has been bleached with bone char. Because eating a plant-based diet in itself will help our cause tremendously.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts