Are Albanese Gummy Bears Vegan 2023? All Flavors Reviewed

Disclosure: There are affiliate links in this article, meaning at no extra cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. (Full Disclosure)

Albanese gummy candy is a delicious and unique treat that has become a favorite among candy lovers. Made with natural ingredients, Albanese gummy candy offers a variety of flavors for any sweet tooth – from sour to sweet. But, are Albanese Gummy bears vegan?

Albanese Gummy are not vegan because they contain gelatin, which is made from animals.

Albanese Gummy Bears Ingredients

Below is a list of ingredients from all the flavors that I could find.

  • Canola Oil
  • Coconut Oil
  • Carnauba Leaf Wax (To Prevent Sticking)
  • Citric Acid
  • Corn Syrup (From Corn)
  • Blue #1
  • Red #40
  • Yellow #6
  • Yellow#5
  • Gelatin
  • Natural And Artificial Flavors
  • Pectin (Derived From Fruits)
  • Sugar (From Beets)
  • Water


As always I’ve highlighted the ingredients that we need to take a closer look at.

Non-Vegan Ingredients


Gelatin is made from bones and ligaments from dead animals. This is therefore not a vegan-friendly ingredient.

Questionable Ingredients


Sugar can be found in almost all candy today and this can be a problem for vegans. The most common sugar used is refined cane sugar and in the refining process of the sugar it’s also bleached. A common bleaching method is to use bone char from dead cows.

Exploiting dead animals in the production process is not okay for vegans even tho they are already dead. The source of the sugar is rarely disclosed and information about the bleaching process can be hard to come by.

Luckily for us the sugar is disclosed and it’s beet sugar, so bone char is not a problem.

Natural Flavors

The second questionable ingredient is natural flavors and this ingredient is also hard for vegans, because it’s an umbrella term, which means that companies can add whatever ingredient they wish to accomplish their taste inside natural flavors without needing to disclose all the ingredients.

So it’s impossible for vegans to know if it’s vegan-friendly or not. The best way to be sure is to contact the company and ask.

Artificial Colors

This is a controversial ingredient within the vegan community. These colors are know to be tested on animals and this does not align with the vegan philosophy. There are other testing methods such as computer simulations that can be used instead.

There are also health issues linked to these colors such as hyperactivity in kids. Ethical vegans tends to stay away from these colors, while dietary vegans sometimes choose to consume them.


The reason I mention corn is because it’s one of the most common GMO crops in USA. GMO crops requires a high amount of herbicide in order for it to grow and this can pollute the surrounding environment, damaging it severely.

Vegan Alternative To Albanese Gummy Bears

So I found a great alternative and it’s called YumEarth.

They are certified vegan and they taste amazing!


Most gummy bear candy contains gelatin, but if you are lucky some companies do produce vegan-friendly options such as YumEarth. They call it gummy fruits and are shaped as little bunnies. Remember to read the ingredients label because companies can change their recipes.

Thanks for reading, take care!

Recent Posts